In the Shadow of Lightning
22%
off

In the Shadow of Lightning

4.43 (3,383 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.43 (3,383 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Demir Grappo is an outcast - he fled a life of wealth and power, abandoning his responsibilities as a general, a governor, and a son. Now he will live out his days as a grifter, rootless, and alone.
But when his mother is brutally murdered, Demir must return from exile to claim his seat at the head of the family and uncover the truth that got her killed: the very power that keeps civilization turning, godglass, is running out.
Now, Demir must find allies, old friends and rivals alike, confront the powerful guild-families who are only interested in making the most of the scraps left at the table and uncover the invisible hand that threatens the Empire.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 576 pages
  • 155 x 235 x 25mm | 454g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250755697
  • 9781250755698
  • 47,613

Review quote

Excellent worldbuilding and a truly epic narrative combine into Brian's finest work to date. Heartily recommended to anyone who wants a new favorite fantasy series to read.--Brandon Sanderson

"Brian McClellan's latest is another excellent military fantasy, with action from duels to full-scale battles in a fascinating world of glass and secrets. Fans of Brandon Sanderson or Anthony Ryan will love this one." --Django Wexler, author of The Shadow Campaigns series

Powerful rival families, murderous conspiracies, epic battles, larger-than-life characters, and magic.--Fonda Lee, author of The Green Bone Saga

Engaging, fast-paced and epic.--James Islington, author of In The Shadow of What Was Lost

Clever, fun, and by turns beautifully bloody, In the Shadow of Lightning hits like a bolt through a stained glass window.--Megan E. O'Keefe, author of Chaos Vector
show more

About Brian McClellan

Brian McClellan is the author of the bestselling Powder Mage six-book flintlock fantasy series, published by Orbit in the US and UK. It has over half a million copies in print and has been translated into over a dozen languages.
show more

Rating details

3,383 ratings
4.43 out of 5 stars
5 57% (1,914)
4 32% (1,099)
3 9% (311)
2 1% (41)
1 1% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X