Shadow Gate

Shadow Gate

3.86 (1,904 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The captivating, bestselling Spirit Gate swept readers into the turbulent world of the Hundred, where the peace and order of life under the protection of the immortal Guardians has given way to chaos and violence. In the face of a vast horde of marauders led by a rogue Guardian, the bravery and resourcefulness of a lone eagle-reeve and others who risk their lives for the common good have prevented death and destruction from overwhelming the Hundred. In Shadow Gate, the enthralling sequel, the source of corruption of the Guardians is still a mystery to the mortals who fight to withstand the forces that have turned against them. And when three new Guardians emerge, a struggle begins among the immortals, with nothing less at stake than the future of the land and its gods. With all the color, excitement, and narrative power that have made Kate Elliott an enormously popular writer, Shadow Gate weaves a powerful spell of action, romance, and magic that will entrance legions of readers.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 773 pages
  • 104.14 x 167.64 x 35.56mm | 385.55g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Maps
  • 0765349310
  • 9780765349316
  • 113,015

Review quote

"Elliott's strengths as a writer are on display in this second Crossroads book. She brings her characters fully alive with stringent detail and attentive worldbuilding. Fans of Elliott and new readers alike will find this novel satisfying.--"Times Book Reviews""A fabulous thriller that grips readers from the onset. . . . exhilarating." --"SF Revu""Crossroads is shaping up to be Kate Elliott's best work and is highly recommended to both fans of the author and any readers who appreciate fantasy in the vein of Robin Hobb, Jacqueline Carey, and J.V. Jones..." --"Fantasy Book Critic""This promises to be a truly epic fantasy." --"Publishers Weekly" on "Spirit Gate"""Spirit Gate" has kept me up late at night for too many nights in a row, it made me burn dinner once, and it nearly caused a fender-bender when I was thinking about the characters while driving. It's a big, complex, absorbing book that interfered with my living my daily life while I was reading it, and I blame the author quite bitterly for that." --Laura Resnick, award-winning author of "In Fire Forged" on "Spirit Gate""I love this book. Once again Kate Elliott has written a splendid, grand epic that sweeps the reader into this magical world and doesn't let go even after the very last word on the very last page. I can't wait for the sequel to see what happens next." --Dennis L. McKiernan, author of "Once Upon a Spring Morn" on "Spirit Gate""A treasure for readers who enjoy the journey as much as, or more than, the destination." --"Sci Fi Weekly" on "Spirit Gate"show more

About Kate Elliott

Kate Elliott is the author of more than a dozen epic novels. Her novel King's Dragon was a finalist for the Nebula Award and The Golden Key (co-written with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson) was a World Fantasy Award finalist. Born in Oregon, she lives in Hawaii.show more

Rating details

1,904 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 26% (493)
4 41% (786)
3 27% (511)
2 5% (95)
1 1% (19)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X