Shades of Milk and Honey

Shades of Milk and Honey

3.48 (11,564 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The fantasy novel you've always wished Jane Austen had written "Shades of Milk and Honey "is exactly what we could expect from Jane Austen if she had been a fantasy writer: "Pride and Prejudice "meets "Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell." It is an intimate portrait of a woman, Jane, and her quest for love in a world where the manipulation of glamour is considered an essential skill for a lady of quality. Jane and her sister Melody vie for the attentions of eligible men, and while Jane's skill with glamour is remarkable, it is her sister who is fair of face. When Jane realizes that one of Melody's suitors is set on taking advantage of her sister for the sake of her dowry, she pushes her skills to the limit of what her body can withstand in order to set things right--and, in the process, accidentally wanders into a love story of her own.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 137.16 x 210.82 x 27.94mm | 408.23g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 076532556X
  • 9780765325563
  • 354,803

Review quote

"If Jane Austen had written a fantasy novel, Shades of Milk and Honey would have been the result. Written with painstaking attention to detail, Kowal's prose is serenely evocative of the time period, and the fantastic elements are a seamless fit. The characterization is extremely well done and Jane is a sympathetic, strong and intelligent heroine whose devotion to her family trumps nearly every other concern. Give this one a try!" --"RT Book Reviews," 4 1/2 stars, Top Pick! "Readers will be disappointed only when they finish this enchanting story, which is suffused with genteel charm... With the grace of "Sense and Sensibility," a touch of classic fairy tale magic, and an action-packed ending, this debut novel by an award-winning fantasy short story writer will appeal to fans of Jane Austen, Jane Yolen, Patricia Wrede, Susannah Clarke, and even Jasper Fforde." --"Library Journal" "Cliche as it might sound, if Jane Austen had sat down to pen a fantasy, this is the book she would have written. The tone, the cadence, the sweep, every bow and curtsey of the language is woven into "Shades of Milk and Honey.".. Kowal's mastery is the art of the Austenite nuance... When I reached the last page I just wanted to start it all over again. It left me craving nothing but a cup of Constant Comment...and the sequel." --"Intergalactic Medicine Show""" "A beautiful, lyrical, tightly-woven meld of Jane Austen, "Jane Eyre," and "Beauty and the Beast"--I couldn't put it down!" --Lilith Saintcrow "Simply enchanting, and another great advance in an already impressive literary career. You're going to love this." --John Scalzi "Shades of Milk and Honey is a lovely, smart, strange novel with everything on earth (and elsewhere) to recommend it. Smoothly crafted with a flair for romance and mystery, this story is one part meticulous manners and one part wild magic -- composing a whole that's utterly irresistible." --Cherie Priest"Kowal's first novel is a beshow more

About Mary Robinette Kowal

Mary Robinette Kowal was the 2008 recipient of the Campbell Award for Best New Writer and a Hugo nominee for her story "Evil Robot Monkey." Her short fiction has appeared in Strange Horizons, Asimov's, and several Year's Best anthologies. Mary is an active member of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America and currently serves on the Board of Directors. A professional puppeteer and voice actor, she grew up in North Carolina and spent five years touring nationally with puppet theaters. She wrote "Shades of Milk and Honey" while living in Iceland and performing on the hit television show "Lazytown." Mary currently lives in Portland, OR with her husband Rob and nine manual typewriters.show more

Rating details

11,564 ratings
3.48 out of 5 stars
5 15% (1,762)
4 36% (4,177)
3 34% (3,977)
2 11% (1,260)
1 3% (388)

Our customer reviews

I have to admit, I was a bit put off by the cover of this book. The female picture isn't really .. ugly as much as, I don't know how to describe it but I was somewhat put off by both the pictured girl and the cover itself. I don't think, had it not been for the Nebula Nominee list, I would have ever picked this one up. That said, I did and it was not what I expected. The summary says it's like a mix of Pride and Prejudice meets Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell but I really didn't get that vibe from it. Yes, there were similarities to Pride and Prejudice but it was more like a young adult look at the time period mixed up with a bit of magic. The magic system in this book seemed very simple - just another accomplishment to add to the list of accomplishments. By folding and tying off "magic" illusions and artwork could be created. While it was fanciful and provided for some interesting moments, I felt less like I was reading a fantasy book and more like I was reading "fantasy-light" for teenagers with some historical backdrops. While I can see the allure of the book for a cozy afternoon at home spent reading, I don't quite see how this book can measure up to the more hard-hitting titles nominated for the Nebula Awards. It will be interesting to see how it does.show more
by Lydia Presley
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X