Seventh Grade vs. the Galaxy

Seventh Grade vs. the Galaxy

4.62 (37 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

PSS 118 is just your typical school--except that it's a rickety old spaceship orbiting Jupiter. When the school is mysteriously attacked, thirteen-year-old Jack receives a cryptic message from his father (the school's recently-fired-for-tinkering-with-the-ship science teacher). Amidst the chaos, Jack discovers that his dad has built humanity's first light-speed engine--and given Jack control of it. To save the ship, Jack catapults it hundreds of light-years away and right into the clutches of the first aliens humans have ever seen. School hasn't just gotten out: it's gone clear across the galaxy. And now it's up to Jack and his friends to get everyone home.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 142 x 211 x 30mm | 408g
  • Minneapolis, United States
  • English
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 1541528107
  • 9781541528109
  • 1,103,892

Review quote

"Seventh-grade buddies Jack and Ari, along with the class bully T-Bex (Becka), are all that stand between their space-station school (P.S.S. 118) and the galaxy-controlling Elvidian Minister's brand of punishment for Jack's dad's tinkering with forbidden science. What was supposed to be the last day of seventh grade turns into the first day of saving the world. Reminiscent of writing by Chris Grabenstein, this middle-grade action-adventure space opera is just plain fun. Sassy ship computers, mean lunch-lady robots, a suitably authoritarian villain, and the freedom to roam the universe to save their families make this a story that will appeal to boys and girls alike, and there are hints of age-appropriate romance (spoiler alert, Ari has a crush on Becka) thrown in for good measure. There's plenty of STEM material as the kids must acquire fuel, repair the lightspeed engines, and escape the pull of planets. Levy's energetic debut will especially appeal to fans of Monica Tesler's Bounders series, David Liss' Randoms (2015), and Adam Rex's Smek books."--Booklist


--Journal
show more

Rating details

37 ratings
4.62 out of 5 stars
5 68% (25)
4 27% (10)
3 5% (2)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X