Seven Lectures on Meteorology

Seven Lectures on Meteorology

By (author) 

List price: US$80.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Luke Howard (1772-1864) was a pharmacist and businessman, but is most famous for his contributions to meteorology. He classified clouds by their appearance and gave them their modern names of cumulus, cirrus, nimbus and stratus. He was educated at a Quaker school in Oxfordshire, then trained as a pharmacist, but was fascinated by weather throughout his life, and developed into a keen amateur meteorologist. He wrote several important texts on the subject including The Climate of London, an early study in urban climatology, and On the Modification of Clouds (both also reissued in this series). Published in 1837, Seven Lectures on Meteorology covers the components of the atmosphere, seasonal variation in winds and temperature, the use of barometers, cloud structure, and visual phenomena such as rainbows and the Aurora Borealis. This reissue also includes Howard's short 1842 book which details selected British weather data from 1824 to more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Cambridge University Press (Virtual Publishing)
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 19 b/w illus.
  • 1139135465
  • 9781139135467

Table of contents

Preface; 1. Constitution and properties of the atmosphere; 2. Constant and variable winds. Climates and seasons; 3. Cycles of temperature; 4. The barometer, its principle, construction and variations; 5. The clouds: their varieties or modifications of form and structure; 6. Electricity of the atmosphere, and of clouds; 7. Colour of the sky, cyanometer, conclusion; Appendix. A cycle of eighteen years in the seasons of Britain deduced from meteorological observations made at Ackworth, in the West Riding of Yorkshire, from 1824 to more