Seven Days of Us
25%
off

Seven Days of Us : 'One of the best books of the year' Hello!

3.7 (7,009 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

'One of the best books of the year' Hello!

The joyful, sharply observed and life-affirming Christmas story for fans of One Day. Also a Radio 2 Bookclub pick.

It's Christmas, and the Birch family is gathering for the first time in years.

Olivia, the eldest daughter, has returned from treating an epidemic abroad and must go into quarantine for seven days. Her mother has decided it's the perfect opportunity to spend some 'special time' together. Her youngest sister wholeheartedly disagrees. Her father isn't allowed an opinion.

When no one can leave the house, seven days for the Birches feels like an eternity.

Especially when they're all harbouring secrets. One of whom is about to come knocking at their door...

'LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous!' Marian Keyes

'I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching' Daily Mail

'Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has "Working Title film deal" written all over it' Glamour

'Francesca Hornak is hilariously funny with characters that jump off the page, grab you, and just won't let go' Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

'Expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit' The i

'Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable' Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us

'Compassionate, witty and wise' Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins

'I LOVED Seven Days of Us. The story swallowed me up. It has all the makings of your classic rom-com, with characters that are both remarkable yet wonderfully relatable, thanks to Francesca Hornak's acutely observational storytelling. The family tension is all too real. Brilliant!' The Unmumsy Mum

'Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting!' Maeve Haran, bestselling author of Having it All

'Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it' Adele Geras

'It's a cliche to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific' Virginia Ironside

'An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it!' Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'Witty and deeply heartfelt' Bestselling author Emily Giffin

'Hornak's wry, masterful portrayal of a family in crisis is filled with flawed and funny characters who will capture - and break - your heart' Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Dollhouse

'Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home' Booklist starred review

'A superb drama - smart and touching' Sunday Mirror
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 126 x 198 x 28mm | 280g
  • PIATKUS BOOKS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0349415617
  • 9780349415611
  • 2,531

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review Text

LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous! Marian Keyes
show more

Review quote

With its wry observations on class, family, and veddy-British traditions, Francesca Hornak's absorbing debut sparkles with glints of Nancy Mitford and Julian Fellowes -- Stephanie Clifford, New York Times bestselling author of Everybody Rise This book is heartwarming and gloriously funny, anyone who spends the Christmas period with their family will be able to relate hugely to this novel. Thank god it's happening to the characters and not to you! * Doncaster Free Press * Seven Days of Us expertly captures the joys and the tensions of spending any time with those who know you best. It thoroughly deserves to be this year's big Christmas hit * The i * One of the best books of the year * Hello! * A humorous and heartwarming page-turner * Belfast Telegraph * 'Witty and deeply heartfelt' * Bestselling author Emily Griffin * Sharply observed by Hornak's satirical eye, this has 'Working Title film deal' written all over it * Glamour * I loved this comic drama . . . the plot is genius . . . and the results are hilarious and touching * Daily Mail * Absorbing, insightful and immensely enjoyable * Laura Barnett, bestselling author of The Versions of Us * Gripping, powerfully emotional and life-affirming. I read it in one sitting! * Bestselling author Maeve Haran * An emotional but ultimately uplifting holiday story * Kirkus Review * Warm hearted, witty and wise, Seven Days Of Us is hugely entertaining * Saskia Sarginson, bestselling author of The Twins * Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home * Booklist starred review * An engrossing and funny study of a middle-class British family in crisis. I loved it! -- Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks It's a cliche to say this book is a rollercoaster but the sun came up and the sun went down, people cried for help, and the bath overflowed, and I couldn't move, captivated by this extraordinary page-turner. The plot is compulsive and doesn't let up till the very last chapter. It has more twists and turns than Hampton Court Maze and yet Francesca Hornak guides one through it all with a confident hand until one puts it down, exhausted but exhilarated by such a rollicking good read. Terrific -- Virginia Ironside Touching, funny, emotionally intelligent, Seven Days of Us is pure pleasure from beginning to end. It's stylishly written and totally engrossing. I really, really loved it -- Adele Geras Compassionate, witty and wise -- Saskia Sarginson, bestelling author of The Twins LOVED it! Warm and humane, funny and sad, with a great, twisty plot, Seven Days of Us is absolute pleasure reading from beginning to end. Francesca Hornak is a true talent. Just gorgeous! * Marian Keyes *
show more

About Francesca Hornak

Francesca Hornak is a journalist and writer, whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines including The Sunday Times, The Guardian, Marie Claire, Red, Grazia and Stylist. Her column History Of The World In 100 Modern Objects first appeared in The Sunday Times Style Magazine in 2013 and ran for two years, later becoming a title with Portico. Francesca is also the author of a second non-fiction book, Worry with Mother (Portico).
show more

Rating details

7,009 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 17% (1,201)
4 46% (3,197)
3 30% (2,114)
2 5% (371)
1 2% (126)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X