Seven Colonies of Australasia

Seven Colonies of Australasia

List price: US$11.48

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can usually download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1896 edition. Excerpt: the following year, by Governor Darling, and further additions were made from time to time. On the 6th June, 1838, the public were first admitted to hear the debates, for up to that time even the representatives of the Press had been excluded Thenceforth the proceedings were more or less fully reported. Until 1843 the members of the Legislative Council were all nominated by the Governor, but in that year the principle of election was introduced, in conjunction with that of nomination. The nominated members were twelve in number, six being official and six non-official. The elected members comprised a number of men whose names have become historic, such as W. C. Wentworth, William Bland, William Lawson, Charles Cowper, Terence Aubrey Murray, W. H. Suttor, Francis Lord, Richard Windeyer, Alexander Macleay, Roger Therry, Charles Nicholson, and John Dunmore Lang, the two last mentioned being among the representatives of the Port Phillip district, now known as Victoria. Mr. Alexander Macleay was the first Speaker of this body, succeeded by Sir Charles Nicholson in 1846. Partial representation in the Legislature did not altogether satisfy the colonists, for as far back as the year 1845 the question of Responsible Government was publicly discussed. The agitation once awakened was never allowed to slumber, and aided by a vigorous and outspoken Press, as well as by the talented oratory of some of the patriotic members of the Legislature, it continually became more active until in the year 1855 the Imperial Parliament passed a measure to sanction the new Constitution that the colonists sought. On the 22nd May, 1856, the first Australian Parliament under Responsible Government was opened by Sir William Denison in Sydney. It consisted of a...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 189 x 246 x 18mm | 599g
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1236843576
  • 9781236843579