The Serpent and the Scorpion

The Serpent and the Scorpion : An Ursula Marlow Mystery

3.44 (138 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A gripping mystery of scandal and intrigue starring a spirited and beautiful Edwardian heiress
It's the end of 1911 and Ursula Marlow, struggling to maintain control over her father's textile empire, finds her business trip to Egypt interrupted by two violent deaths. The first victim is her new friend, Katya?the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian financier. Then when a young woman dies in a fire in one of Ursula's factories just days later, she returns to investigate and discovers the woman was already dead before the fire started. Driven by her need for justice, the headstrong Ursula is determined to unravel the possible connection between the two deaths, the return of her Bolshevik ex-lover, and disturbing events in the Middle East. "The Serpent and the Scorpion" is a tale of romance, betrayal, and murder that will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Peters, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Jacqueline Winspear.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 289 pages
  • 127 x 195.58 x 15.24mm | 204.12g
  • Penguin Books
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0143113399
  • 9780143113393
  • 992,537

Review quote

? Langley-Hawthorne follows in the pertly trod path set by Jacqueline Winspear. . . . "Consequences of Sin" is more Dorothy Sayers than "CSI", which isn?t a bad thing at all.?
?"Calgary Herald"
show more

About Clare Langley-Hawthorne

Born in Canada and raised in England and Australia, Clare Langley-Hawthorne was a practicing attorney in Melbourne until emigrating to the United States in 1995. Once here, she obtained her MA and LLM and worked as an economist for the health care industry before beginning her career as a writer. She lives in the San Francisco bay area with her Australian husband, her twin sons, and her collie.
show more

Rating details

138 ratings
3.44 out of 5 stars
5 13% (18)
4 36% (49)
3 37% (51)
2 12% (17)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X