The Serpent and the Scorpion

The Serpent and the Scorpion : An Ursula Marlow Mystery

3.44 (143 ratings by Goodreads)

List price: US$16.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A gripping mystery of scandal and intrigue starring a spirited and beautiful Edwardian heiress It's the end of 1911 and Ursula Marlow, struggling to maintain control over her father's textile empire, finds her business trip to Egypt interrupted by two violent deaths. The first victim is her new friend, Katya?the mysterious wife of a wealthy Russian financier. Then when a young woman dies in a fire in one of Ursula's factories just days later, she returns to investigate and discovers the woman was already dead before the fire started. Driven by her need for justice, the headstrong Ursula is determined to unravel the possible connection between the two deaths, the return of her Bolshevik ex-lover, and disturbing events in the Middle East. The Serpent and the Scorpion is a tale of romance, betrayal, and murder that will appeal to fans of Elizabeth Peters, Dorothy L. Sayers, and Jacqueline Winspear.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 289 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 13mm | 209g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0143113399
  • 9780143113393
  • 1,042,917

Review quote

Langley-Hawthorne follows in the pertly trod path set by Jacqueline Winspear. . . . "Consequences of Sin" is more Dorothy Sayers than "CSI", which isn t a bad thing at all.
"Calgary Herald"
show more

About Clare Langley-Hawthorne

Born in Canada and raised in England and Australia, Clare Langley-Hawthorne was a practicing attorney in Melbourne until emigrating to the United States in 1995. Once here, she obtained her MA and LLM and worked as an economist for the health care industry before beginning her career as a writer. She lives in the San Francisco bay area with her Australian husband, her twin sons, and her collie.
show more

Rating details

143 ratings
3.44 out of 5 stars
5 13% (18)
4 35% (50)
3 38% (55)
2 12% (17)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X