Septimius Severus

Septimius Severus : The African Emperor

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?


In this, the only biography of Septimius Severus in English, Anthony R. Birley explors how 'Roman' or otherwise this man was and examines his remarkable background and career. Severus was descended from Phoenician settlers in Tripolitania, and his reign, AD 193-211, represents a key point in Roman history. Birley explores what was African and what was Roman in Septimius' background, given that he came from an African city. He asks whether Septimius was a 'typical cosmopolitan bureaucrat', a 'new Hannibal on the throne of Caesar' or 'principle author of the decline of the Roman Empire'?show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 154.94 x 231.14 x 20.32mm | 521.63g
  • Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Revised
  • 2nd Revised edition
  • 28 illustrations, 3 line figures, 25 b&w photographs
  • 0415165911
  • 9780415165914
  • 678,249

Review quote

"In this excellent book, [Septimius Severus] is rehabilitated as an able if ruthless leader and a remarkable man."-"The Independent "A Surprisingly rich picture of the emperor's times."-Ramsey Macmillan, "Ancient Historyshow more

About Anthony R. Birley

Anthony R. Birley is Professor of Ancient History at Heinrich Heine University, Dusseldorf. He was previously Professor of Ancient History at Manchester University. His previous books include three on Roman Britain as well as biographies of Marcus Aurelius and more

Table of contents

List of Illustrations, Preface, 1. The Emoria, 2. Lepcis Magna: From Free State to Colonia, 3. Life in Roman Tripolitania, 4. The Broad stripe, 5. Into the Emperor's Service, 6. A Caesar Born to the Purple, 7. The Great Marshall, 8. Julia Domna, 9. The Conspirators, 10. The Year 193, 11. The War Against Niger, 12. The War Against Albinus, 13. Parthia and Egypt, 14. Return to Africa, 15. The Years in Italy, 16. Expiditio Felicissima Brittanica, 17. Aftermath and more