The Sentient

The Sentient

3.77 (9 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Afifi's staggering and un-put-downable debut offers a fresh and feminist-forward take on cloning [...] This riveting debut is a must-have for any sci-fi fan."- Publishers Weekly starred review

Included in Library Journal's "Rise of the Monsters: Top Horror Titles and Trends Coming This Season


Amira Valdez is a brilliant neuroscientist trying to put her past on a religious compound behind her. But when she's assigned to a controversial cloning project, her dreams of working in space are placed in jeopardy. Using her talents as a reader of memories, Amira uncovers a conspiracy to stop the creation of the first human clone - at all costs.
As she unravels the mystery, Amira navigates a dangerous world populated by anti-cloning militants, scientists with hidden agendas, and a mysterious New Age movement. In the process, Amira uncovers an even darker secret, one that forces her to confront her own past.

FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launched in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 20mm | 198g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 1787584321
  • 9781787584327

Review quote

"Afifi's staggering and un-put-downable debut offers a fresh and feminist-forward take on cloning [...] This riveting debut is a must-have for any sci-fi fan." "Afifi's first novel is a science fiction noir [...] The worldbuilding is a particular strength, as every locale feels well-realized and lived-in.This is an excellent book for fans of Mira Grant and Michael Crichton, or readers who love a thrilling narrative and welcome moral and philosophical questions in their science fiction."
show more

About Nadia Afifi

Nadia Afifi is an Arab American science fiction author who lives in Denver, Colorado. Although born in the United States, she grew up in Saudi Arabia and Bahrain before returning to Missouri for college. From an early age, she knew she wanted to be a writer, but having two scientists as parents also instilled a love of speculative fiction. Her experiences in the Middle East and her multicultural upbringing have driven the stories she wants to tell, by exploring present-day issues such as women's rights, religion and cultural identities through a futuristic lens. Her father is a Saudi geologist of Palestinian descent, while her mother is an American geologist from St. Louis, Missouri.

She attained a Bachelor's in Journalism, followed by an MBA, from the University of Missouri and currently works for the Department of Veterans Affairs by supporting new projects to improve the agency's healthcare systems. While working for the VA, she began her first novel, The Sentient. She has also written several short stories, including "Exhibit K", which recently featured in Abyss and Apex magazine.

Nadia is represented by Naomi Davis at Bookends Literary Agency. When she isn't writing or working, she spends her time hiking in Colorado, thinking about her next story on the treadmill or planning her next overseas vacation.
show more

Rating details

9 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 22% (2)
4 44% (4)
3 22% (2)
2 11% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X