Sense and Sensibility (Vintage Classics Austen Series)

Sense and Sensibility (Vintage Classics Austen Series) : Jane Austen

4.08 (1,050,470 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Introduction by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


'Beautifully designed... Perfect collectable gift for Austen fans and design devotees' So Darling

Elinor is as prudent as her sister Marianne is impetuous. Each must learn from the other after they are they are forced by their father's death to leave their home and enter into the contests of polite society. The charms of unsuitable men and the schemes of rival ladies mean that their paths to success are thwart with disappointment but together they attempt to find a way to happiness.


VINTAGE CLASSICS AUSTEN SERIES - all six of Jane Austen's major novels, beautifully designed and introduced by our finest contemporary writers.
show more

Vintage Classics

Interested in all the books in this Series? Click here

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 129 x 178 x 28mm | 331g
  • Vintage Classics
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0099589346
  • 9780099589341
  • 11,620

Review Text

The technique of [Jane Austen's novels] is beyond praise.... Her mastery of the art she chose, or that chose her, is complete
show more

Review quote

Jane Austen is the pinnacle to which all other authors aspire -- J.K. Rowling Jane Austen is my favourite author -- E.M. Forster The technique of [Jane Austen's novels] is beyond praise.... Her mastery of the art she chose, or that chose her, is complete -- Elizabeth Bowen The wit of Jane Austen has for partner the perfection of her taste -- Virginia Woolf I am a great admirer of Jane Austen -- Alexander McCall Smith
show more

About Jane Austen

Jane Austen was born in Steventon rectory on 16 December 1775. Her family later moved to Bath, then to Southampton and finally to Chawton in Hampshire. She began writing Pride and Prejudice when she was twenty-two years old. It was originally called First Impressions and was initially rejected by the publishers and only published in 1813 after much revision. She published four of her novels in her lifetime, Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma(1816). Jane Austen died on 18th July 1817. Northanger Abbey and Persuasion were both published posthumously in 1818.

Francesca Segal is a journalist and writer. Her debut novel, The Innocents, was awarded the 2012 Costa First Novel Award among many other prizes.

Leanne Shapton is an illustrator, author and publisher based in New York City.
show more

Rating details

1,050,470 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 41% (429,302)
4 35% (366,017)
3 18% (186,014)
2 4% (45,134)
1 2% (24,003)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X