Selected Poems of Derek Walcott

Selected Poems of Derek Walcott

3.97 (243 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas


This new Selected Poems offers an ordered retrospective of the fertile career of Derek Walcott, spanning six decades and drawing on twelve collections. Winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992, Walcott has, in the words of Seamus Heaney, 'moved with gradually deepening confidence to found his own poetic domain, independent of the tradition he inherited yet not altogether orphaned from it.'show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 130 x 200 x 25mm | 300g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 0571227112
  • 9780571227112
  • 114,881

About Derek Walcott

Derek Walcott was born in St Lucia in 1930. His Collected Poems 1948-1984 was published in 1986, and his subsequent works include Omeros (1990), Tiepolo's Hound (2000) and The Prodigal (2005). He received the Nobel Prize for Literature in more

Review quote

"The magnitude of Walcott's achievement . . . is on lavish display in his updated "Selected Poems," which spans a half-century of his protean output and highlights the formal prowess of the progressively ambitious work he's produced over the last twenty years . . . confirming the incantatory powers of an oracle the likes of which the New World hasn't seen since Prospero drowned his book." --David Barber, "The ""Boston"" Globe""" ""Selected Poems" allows us the rare pleasure of tracing a long career, a full life . . . Timeless in [its] magic and cumulative power . . . Luminous [and] engaging." --Richard Wakefield, "The ""Seattle"" Times"show more

Rating details

243 ratings
3.97 out of 5 stars
5 31% (75)
4 43% (104)
3 20% (49)
2 5% (12)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X