See You in the Cosmos
20%
off

See You in the Cosmos

4.01 (2,088 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

'I haven't read anything that has moved me this much since Wonder' Jennifer NivenAn astonishingly moving middle-grade debut about a space-obsessed boy's quest for family and home. All eleven-year old Alex wants is to launch his iPod into space. With a series of audio recordings, he will show other lifeforms out in the cosmos what life on Earth, his Earth, is really like.But for a boy with a long-dead dad, a troubled mum, and a mostly-not-around brother, Alex struggles with the big questions. Where do I come from? Who's out there? And, above all, How can I be brave?Determined to find the answers, Alex sets out on a remarkable road trip that will turn his whole world upside down . . .For fans of Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Jack Cheng's debut is full of joy, optimism, determination, and unbelievable heart. To read the first page is to fall in love with Alex and his view of our big, beautiful, complicated world. To read the last is to know he and his story will stay with you a long, long time.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 19mm | 223g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • PUFFIN
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141365609
  • 9780141365602
  • 18,204

Review quote

[A] poignant, memorable debut * Guardian * The narration is a delight, swerving from space jokes and naivety to childlike wisdom * Financial Times * I haven't read anything that has moved me this much since Wonder . . . The very best books are rare and powerful magic, as if they were conjured by the stars. See You in the Cosmos is one of these. Hero Alex Petroski is eleven years old, in search of himself and the universe. His extraordinary journey is relatable and timeless, and I wanted to stay forever in this funny, wise, beautiful world. -- Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe I am a sucker for road trip novels and this is one of the best and sweetest I've read in ages. Alex is an unforgettably lovely narrator, and his story is out of this world. -- Robin Stevens, author of the bestselling Murder Most Unladylike series Falling in love with a new book: the very beautiful See You in the Cosmos . . . this is something special -- Emily Drabble, BookTrust Moving and hopeful . . . an unmissable adventure. One to watch. -- The Bookseller A touching debut, with a clever narrative device and a deeply affecting hero * Daily Mail * 4.5 STARS * Sun * Cheng has captured a view of the cosmos through a child's eyes, and that is the book's real pleasure' * Daily Telegraph * I love this book - the characters , the story, but most of all, the voice . . . It's a story a story that changes the way you see the world -- Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting By 7's Alex Petroski has a big mind, big dreams, and a big heart. His story is full of the real kind of magic - friends well-met, surprising journeys, and heartbreak and hope. This is a beautiful book -- Ally Condie, New York Times bestselling author of Matched It's not always that we read a novel that so powerfully affirms our human capacity for grace and love and understanding -- Gary D Schmidt, author of National Award finalist Okay for Now Poignant and funny . . . propulsive . . . Alex's strong voice drives this compelling personal journey with resonant themes of family, friendship and resilience * Publishers Weekly (starred review) * Featured in 'Best Books for Children's and Teens 2017 * Independent Online * This is an original and highly compelling read; heart-breaking on occasions, but ultimately uplifting * Teach Secondary * A heart-warming story about a space-obsessed boy's quest for answers * Angels & Urchins * A poignant debut * Event Magazine *show more

About Jack Cheng

Jack Cheng was born in Shanghai and grew up in Michigan. After spending nearly a decade in New York, working in advertising and tech, he now lives in Detroit. See you in the Cosmos is his first novel for young readers. Follow him on Twitter @JackCheng and visit his website Jackcheng.comshow more

Review Text

[A] poignant, memorable debut Guardian 20170325show more

Rating details

2,088 ratings
4.01 out of 5 stars
5 34% (711)
4 41% (851)
3 19% (401)
2 5% (94)
1 1% (31)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X