Secrets of Southern Girls

Secrets of Southern Girls : A Novel

3.59 (1,172 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Harrigan's novel, part mystery and part coming-of-age, explores the process of healing from tragedies and misunderstandings.--Publishers Weekly

An atmospheric novel about a young woman who uncovers devastating secrets that will resurrect the people she lost and the lies she buried--a suspenseful spin on the tender Southern novel.

Ten years ago, Julie Portland accidentally killed her best friend, Reba. What's worse is she got away with it. Consumed by guilt, she left the small town of Lawrence Mill, Mississippi, and swore nothing would ever drag her back. Now, raising her daughter and struggling to make ends meet, Julie still can't forget the ghost of a girl with golden hair and a dangerous secret.

When August, Reba's first love, begs Julie to come home to find the diary that Reba kept all those years ago, Julie's past comes creeping back to haunt her. That diary could expose the shameful memories Julie has been running from, but it could also unearth the truths that Reba left buried...and reveal that Julie isn't the only one who feels responsible for Reba's death.

A Southern mystery perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain and Ellen Marie Wiseman, Secrets of Southern Girls, is a thriller that delivers suspense, romance, and healing.

Harrigan is a great prose stylist who knows how to sustain the tension and tone required of a Southern Gothic novel.--ForeWord
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 25mm | 430.91g
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492647551
  • 9781492647553
  • 3,279,361

Review quote

Harrigan is a great prose stylist who knows how to sustain the tension and tone required of a Southern Gothic novel. Her writing is evocative and atmospheric, whether the action takes place under the bright lights of Manhattan or in Mississippi's weedy heat. - ForeWord
show more

Rating details

1,172 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 18% (212)
4 36% (422)
3 35% (412)
2 9% (100)
1 2% (26)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X