Secrets of Southern Girls
32%
off

Secrets of Southern Girls : A novel

3.54 (351 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

"Harrigan's novel, part mystery and part coming-of-age, explores the process of healing from tragedies and misunderstandings."--Publishers Weekly A tender, yet thrilling suspense novel about a young woman who uncovers devastating secrets that will resurrect the people she lost and the lies she buried - perfect for fans of Diane Chamberlain and Ellen Marie Wiseman Ten years ago, Julie Portland accidentally killed her best friend, Reba. What's worse is she got away with it. Consumed by guilt, she left the small town of Lawrence Mill, Mississippi, and swore nothing would ever drag her back. Now, raising her daughter and struggling to make ends meet in Manhattan, Julie still can't forget the ghost of a girl with golden hair and a dangerous secret. When August, Reba's first love, begs Julie to come home to find the diary that Reba kept all those years ago, Julie's past comes creeping back to haunt her. That diary could expose the shameful memories Julie has been running from, but it could also unearth the hidden truths that Reba left buried...and reveal that Julie isn't the only one who feels responsible for Reba's death.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 26mm | 431g
  • Sourcebooks, Inc
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492647551
  • 9781492647553
  • 1,022,147

Review quote

"A twisting, sensuous novel about first love and innocence lost. As mesmerizing as the Mississippi heat, Haley Harrigan's debut weaves two tales together in time as Julie Portland seeks the truth about her childhood friend's mysterious death--a truth Julie has hidden even from herself. Harrigan delves into Greg Iles territory, navigating racial tensions and the secret (and not-so-secret) history of the deep south. In the end, like the "oil streak" river that flows through this story, Secrets of Southern Girls reveals a stain we all would be better off examining." - Jenny Milchman, USA Today bestselling author of Cover of Snow, Ruin Falls, and As Night Fallsshow more

Rating details

351 ratings
3.54 out of 5 stars
5 17% (60)
4 35% (123)
3 36% (125)
2 10% (34)
1 3% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X