The Secrets of Wishtide
13%
off

The Secrets of Wishtide

3.75 (2,953 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the bestselling, award-winning novelist Kate Saunders comes the first in `The Laetitia Rodd Mysteries', six novels featuring a Victorian lady detective, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, M. C. Beaton and Grantchester

'A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable' James Runcie, author of 'The Grantchester Mysteries'

Mrs Laetitia Rodd is the impoverished widow of an Archdeacon, living modestly in Hampstead with her landlady Mrs Bentley. She is also a private detective of the utmost discretion. In winter 1850, her brother Frederick, a criminal barrister, introduces her to Sir James Calderstone, a wealthy and powerful industrialist who asks Mrs Rodd to investigate the background of an `unsuitable' woman his son intends to marry - a match he is determined to prevent.

In the guise of governess, she travels to the family seat, Wishtide, deep in the frozen Lincolnshire countryside, where she soon discovers that the Calderstones have more to hide than most. As their secrets unfold, the case takes an unpleasant turn when a man is found dead outside a tavern. Mrs Rodd's keen eyes and astute wits are taxed as never before in her search for the truth - which carries her from elite drawing rooms to London's notorious inns and its steaming laundry houses.

Dickensian in its scope and characters, The Secrets of Wishtide brings nineteenth century society vividly to life and illuminates the effect of Victorian morality on women's lives. Introducing an irresistible new detective, the first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series will enthral and delight.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 25mm | 248g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1408866870
  • 9781408866870
  • 290,140

Review Text

'A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable' James Runcie, author of 'The Grantchester Mysteries'
show more

Review quote

'A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable' * James Runcie, author of 'The Grantchester Mysteries' * Praise for Five Children on the Western Front
Saunders has created a simply brilliant book ... beautifully crafted, funny, heart-breaking * Daily Mail * A skillful and deeply moving piece of work: poignant, beautifully judged, not a crass pastiche but a respectful homage ... Saunders's novel does what fiction does best: it focuses on individuals we care about in order to make a universal point * Guardian * A skill and charm of its own, as well as compassion and conviction * Sunday Times *
show more

About Kate Saunders

Kate Saunders is an author and journalist. She has worked for The Times, Sunday Times, Sunday Express, Daily Telegraph and Cosmopolitan amongst others, and has contributed to Radio 4's Woman's Hour and Start the Week. She has written numerous books for adults and children, including the bestselling Night Shall Overtake Us, and her follow on to E Nesbit's Five Children and It stories, Five Children on the Western Front, which won the Costa Children's Book Award in 2014. She lives in London.
show more

Rating details

2,953 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 19% (553)
4 45% (1,323)
3 31% (914)
2 4% (130)
1 1% (33)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X