Secrets of a Scandalous Heiress

Secrets of a Scandalous Heiress

3.66 (662 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$7.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A RITA Finalist for Historical Romance! Secrets of a Scandalous Heiress is a fun Regency Romance full of witty banter, heartbreak, mystery, and honest love. Fans of Sabrina Jeffries, Julia Quinn and Sarah MacLean will love this charming story.

A titleless heiress. A secret identity.
And the one man who could ruin it all.

Heiress Augusta Meredith is tired of stirring up gossip wherever she goes, so she escapes to Bath masquerading as a charming young widow in the hopes of taking a lover with no one the wiser. But when sardonic, darkly handsome Joss Everett arrives from London, her charade may be over before she has a chance to spread her wings.

Augusta persuades Joss to keep her secret in exchange for a secret of his own. Weaving their way through the treacherous pitfalls of a polite world only too eager to expose and condemn them, they begin to see that being true to themselves is not so bad...as long as they're true to each other.

What readers are saying about Secrets of a Scandalous Heiress:
"Interesting, complex characters."
"Lovely book that has to be savored slowly like good wine to get the full effect of the writing, the characters and their growth through the story."
"HEARTBREAKING AND HILARIOUS."
"Clever and witty."
"WONDERFULLY LAYERED, flawed characters."
"Wonderful sense of humour."
"Intriguing, heartbreaking!"
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 106 x 175 x 20mm | 158.76g
  • Sourcebooks Casablanca
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1402284055
  • 9781402284052
  • 703,343

Review quote

"Romain concludes her Matchmaker Regency trilogy (after To Charm a Naughty Countess) with irresistible brio and wit... It's all good deceptive fun as the cat-and-mouse games are augmented by spirited repartee, with comic relief provided by Sutcliffe and his wife." - Publishers Weekly "It's a lovely story and well written. I look forward to more from this author." - The Reading Cafe "Romain brings her Matchmaker trilogy to a splendidly satisfying conclusion with this smart, sexy, and emotionally involving historical that gifts readers with a beautifully realized Bath setting and a refreshingly different, wonderfully nuanced hero and heroine." - Booklist "I really enjoyed everything about this book. The characters were fascinating and not the standard duke (I don't have anything against the standard duke, mind, but I like reading about the 99%, too). I loved Joss' identity issues, and the setting made me so happy. I also really liked that there wasn't an evil villain in the background twirling his moustache and cackling. This was a delight." - Smart Bitches, Trashy Books " I would highly recommend this brilliant yet stunning novel to readers all over. It's the most captivating romance readers will ever find." - Romancing the Book "Anyone seeking a different Regency setting and non-royal characters is certain to find Romain's novel a bright light. Well written, filled with likable characters and topped off with a mystery... Expect to shed some tears of joy by the wonderful conclusion." - RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars "Beautifully written, Secrets of a Scandalous Heiress is a must-read for anyone who enjoys romance." - Long and Short Reviews "By far this book is one of the best romantic novels that I have had the pleasure of reading in a long time. Romain is a delightful, fun entertainer..." - Night Owl Reviews, Top Pick!
show more

About Theresa Romain

Historical romance author Theresa Romain pursued an impractical education that allowed her to read everything she could get her hands on. She then worked for universities and libraries, where she got to read even more. Eventually she started writing, too. She lives with her family in the Midwest.
show more

Rating details

662 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 19% (127)
4 40% (266)
3 29% (194)
2 10% (65)
1 2% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X