The Second Spy
12%
off

The Second Spy

4.29 (1,484 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In Olive's third adventure in the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, what lurks below the house could be as dangerous as what's hidden inside. . . Some terrifying things have happened to Olive in the old stone house, but none as scary as starting junior high. Or so she thinks. When she plummets through a hole in her backyard, though, Olive realizes two things that may change her mind: First, the wicked Annabelle McMartin is back. Second, there's a secret below-ground that unlocks not one but two of Elsewhere's biggest, most powerful, most dangerous forces yet. But with the house's magical cats acting suspicious, her best friend threatening to move away, and her ally Morton starting to rebel, Olive isn't sure where to turn. Will she figure the mystery out in time? Or will she be lured into Elsewhere . . . and trapped there for good? A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 296 pages
  • 124.46 x 195.58 x 12.7mm | 294.83g
  • Puffin Books
  • New York
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0142426083
  • 9780142426081
  • 106,045

Review quote

A fantastic story full of magic and mysteries. San Francisco Chronicle on The Shadows This is a great . . . read that will let your imagination run wild. TIME for Kids on The Shadows"
show more

About Jacqueline West

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West (www.jacquelinewest.com) came to writing by way of opera (she studied vocal performance) and acting (she worked as an actress at a dinner theatre while earning her degree). Looking back on it, it's hard for Jacqueline to believe she ever wanted to be an opera singer, but singing, acting, and writing have one thing in common, she says: "They're all about telling a story, about getting inside the mind of someone other than yourself." The Books of Elsewhere were inspired by a strange old house in Jacqueline's home town--three floors, cracking paint, sagging porches--that was owned by a professor who created all sorts of odd contraptions. Like lots of kids who live mostly in their imaginations, Jacqueline was obsessed with all things mysterious, creepy, and darkly funny, and with stories where magic intersects with everyday life. She was enthralled by Roald Dahl, Lewis Carroll, John Bellairs, Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh, Calvin and Hobbes, Bunnicula, etc. Jacqueline lives with her husband and their dog, Brom Bones (of Sleepy Hollow fame).
show more

Rating details

1,484 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 51% (757)
4 31% (464)
3 15% (225)
2 1% (20)
1 1% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X