Season of the Witch

Season of the Witch

3.72 (2,494 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 5 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

In her award-winning novel*, Natasha Mostert blends alchemy, the art of memory, high magic and murder to create a highly original psychological thriller. Gabriel Blackstone is a cool, hip, thoroughly twenty-first century Londoner with an unusual talent. A computer hacker by trade, he is also a remote viewer: able to 'slam a ride' through the minds of others. But he uses his gift only reluctantly - until he is asked to find a young man last seen months earlier at Monk House, in the company of two mysterious women. Gabriel becomes increasingly bewitched by the house, and by its owners, the beautiful Monk sisters. But even as he falls in love, he suspects that one of them is a killer. But which one? And what is the secret they are so determined to protect? * World Book Day: Book to Talk About Award 2009
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 446 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 25mm | 506g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Revised
  • 2nd Revised edition
  • black & white illustrations
  • 190996509X
  • 9781909965096
  • 1,857,139

Review quote

'Black cats, snakes, spiders, mystical signs and symbols and dangerous sex are skilfully stirred together in this brain-squeezing thriller' - Kirkus (starred review) 'Spellbinding' Publishers Weekly (starred review) 'Dazzlingly clever and original... one can only marvel at the author's own witch-like power to enchant her audience' - Daily Mail (London) 'Vividly and evocatively written... enthralled me right to the end' - The Times (London) 'Fans of Anne Rice and Joyce Carol Oates should appreciate Mostert's take on mysticism, magic, and the ancient art of memory' - Booklist 'This heady fiction doesn't so much push at the edges of the genre as ride roughshod over them' - Observer (London)
show more

About Natasha Mostert

Natasha Mostert is a South African novelist and screenwriter. She grew up in Johannesburg but currently lives in London, UK. Her fourth novel, SEASON OF THE WITCH, won the 2009 World Book Day: Book to Talk About Award. Future goals include writing poetry, executing a perfect spinning crescent kick and coming face to face with the ghost of Edgar Allan Poe. Aside from writing, Mostert is an avid kickboxer. Visit her website at www.natashamostert.com to find out more about her involvement with the CPAU Fight for Peace project, which teaches Afghan women how to box and feel empowered in their lives. Educated in South Africa and at Columbia University, New York, Mostert majored in modern languages and holds graduate degrees in Lexicography and Applied Linguistics. She has worked as a teacher in the Department of Afrikaans and Dutch at WITS University, Johannesburg and as project coordinator in the publishing department of public television station WNET/Channel Thirteen, New York. Her political opinion pieces have appeared on the op-ed page of The New York Times, and in Newsweek, The Independent and The Times (London).
show more

Rating details

2,494 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 27% (663)
4 35% (869)
3 26% (657)
2 9% (220)
1 3% (85)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X