Season of the Witch

Season of the Witch

3.72 (2,490 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 5 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

In her award-winning novel*, Natasha Mostert blends alchemy, the Art of Memory, high magic and murder to create a highly original psychological thriller that is steeped in sensuality. Gabriel Blackstone is a cool, hip, thoroughly twenty-first century Londoner with an unusual talent. A computer hacker by trade, he is also a remote viewer: able to 'slam a ride' through the minds of others. But he uses his gift only reluctantly - until he is asked to find a young man last seen months earlier at Monk House, in the company of two mysterious women. Gabriel becomes increasingly bewitched by the house, and by its owners, the beautiful Monk sisters. But even as he falls in love, he suspects that one of them is a killer. But which one? And what is the secret they are so determined to protect? * World Book Day: Book to Talk About Award 2009
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 388 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 25.4mm | 721.21g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Revised
  • 2nd Revised edition
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1909965081
  • 9781909965089

Review quote

This spellbinding tale of magic and seduction from Mostert shows that the unfettered pursuit of arcane enlightenment can sometimes come at too high a price.' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

' Black cats, snakes, spiders, mystical signs and symbols and dangerous sex are skilfully stirred together in this brain-squeezing thriller ...' Kirkus Review (starred)

' Mostert creates a taut, sexy thriller from disparate sci-fi and fantasy ingredients.' Entertainment Weekly

'Vividly and evocatively written ... Mostert combines old and new - alchemy and computers, gothic romance and psychic powers - and the blend enthralled me right to the end.' Times (London)

'Wonderful ...This heady fiction doesn't so much push at the edges of the genre as ride roughshod over them.' Observer

'A dazzlingly clever and original new thriller within the gothic tradition. One can only marvel at the author's own witch-like power to enchant her audience.' Daily Mail

'Mostert has taken a blend of alchemy, the art of memory, mysticism and high magic and created a page-turner.' Time Out

'Intriguing ... Fans of Anne Rice and Joyce Carol Oates should appreciate Mostert's take on mysticism, magic and the ancient art of memory.' Book List

'Fair witch project with a touch of beguiling feminine charm ...Mostert writes with a deft, detailed feminine touch. The old house where the strange sisters live is both menacing and full of sensual promise. Mostert is one to watch for the future.' Daily Express
show more

Rating details

2,490 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 27% (660)
4 35% (869)
3 26% (656)
2 9% (220)
1 3% (85)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X