School of Charm

School of Charm

3.96 (360 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$6.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

At the School of Charm, everyone has a wish to whisper. With an enchanting small-town setting, lively storytelling, and a hint of magic, this debut novel is perfect for fans of Ingrid Law, Clare Vanderpool, and Rebecca Stead.Eleven-year-old Chip has always been her daddy's girl, so when he dies she pins her hopes on winning a beauty pageant to show her family of southern belles that she still belongs. But she'd rather be covered in mud than makeup! Can a rough-and-tumble girl ever become a beauty queen? A universal story about finding your place in the world, School of Charm explores themes of loss, family, and friendship.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • 11+
  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 130.3 x 193.8 x 15.49mm | 295g
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062207598
  • 9780062207593
  • 2,207,484

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Review quote

"Poignant, inspiring debut novel of loss, belonging and being true to yourself."--Kirkus Reviews
show more

Back cover copy

Who' got time for hair curler and high heel when you're buy keeping baby turtle alive?Chip has always been a tree-climbin', fish-catchin' daddy's girl. Then Daddy dies and Mama moves her and her sisters to Grandma's house. Now Chip is struggling to find her place in a family full of beauty queens. Just when she wishes for a sign from Daddy that her new life's going to work, Chip stumbles upon Miss Vernie's School of Charm. Could bizarre beauty lessons and peculiar pageant tricks be the key to making Chip's wishes a reality?Full of spirit and hope, with a hint of magic, this enchanting debut novel tells the tale of one girl's struggle with a universal question: how do you stay true to yourself and find a way to belong at the same time?
show more

Rating details

360 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 34% (122)
4 38% (137)
3 20% (72)
2 7% (25)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X