Schoenberg's Early Correspondence

Schoenberg's Early Correspondence

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Early in his career, the composer Arnold Schoenberg maintained correspondence with many notable figures: Gustav Mahler, Heinrich Schenker, Guido Adler, Arnold Rose, Richard Strauss, Alexander Zemlinsky, and Anton von Webern, to name a few. In this volume of Oxford's Schoenberg in Words series, Ethan Haimo and Sabine Feisst present English translations of the entirety of Arnold Schoenberg's early correspondence, from the earliest extant letters in 1891 to those written in the aftermath of the controversial premieres of his String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7, and the Kammersymphonie, Op. 9. The letters provide a wealth of information on many of the crucial stages in Schoenberg's early career, offering invaluable insights into his daily life and working habits. New details emerge about his activities at Wolzogen's Buntes Theater in Berlin, his frequently confrontational interactions with his first publisher (Dreililien Verlag), the reactions of friends and critics to the premieres of his works, his role
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 448 pages
  • 164 x 241 x 31mm | 772g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0195383729
  • 9780195383720
  • 1,782,467

Review quote

"Remarkably, this is the first comprehensive collection of Arnold Schoenberg's correspondence to appear in English, in fact, the first major edition to appear in any language since the selection published in German by Erwin Stein in 1958...This collection will interest Schoenberg specialists, and, given Schoenberg's influence, will be a necessity for scholars of 20th-century concert music." --M. Dineen, University of Ottawa, School of Music, Choice
show more

About Composer Theorist and Ethan Haimo

Ethan Haimo, theorist and composer, is Professor of Music at Bar Ilan University. He has written extensively on the music of Arnold Schoenberg including Schoenberg's Serial Odyssey (1990) and Schoenberg's Transformation of Musical Language (2006). He has also written about form in Classical music, including the book, Haydn's Symphonic Forms (1995).

Sabine Feisst is Professor of Music at Arizona State University. Focusing on twentieth and twenty-first century music studies, she published the monographs Der Begriff "Improvisation " in der neuen Musik (1997) and Schoenberg's New World: The American Years (2011) which won the Society for American Music's Lowens Award. With Severine Neff, she co-edits the nine-volume set Schoenberg in Words (Oxford University Press).
show more