4.14 (7 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


In this completely rewritten and updated edition of his long-indispensable study, Malcolm MacDonald takes advantage of 30 years of recent scholarship, new biographical information, and deeper understanding of Schoenberg's aims and significance to produce a superb guide to Schoenberg's life and work. MacDonald demonstrates the indissoluble links among Schoenberg's musical language (particularly the enigmatic and influential twelve-tone method), his personal character, and his creative ideas, as well as the deep connection between his genius as a teacher and as a revolutionary composer. Exploring newly considered influences on the composer's early life, MacDonald offers a fresh perspective on Schoenberg's creative process and the emotional content of his music. For example, as a previously unsuspected source of childhood trauma, the author points to the Vienna Ringtheater disaster of 1881, in which hundreds of people were burned to death, including Schoenberg's uncle and aunt-whose orphaned children were then adopted by Schoenberg's parents. MacDonald brings such experiences to bear on the music itself, examining virtually every work in the oeuvre to demonstrate its vitality and many-sidedness. A chronology of Schoenberg's life, a work-list, an updated bibliography, and a greatly expanded list of personal allusions and references round out the study, and enhance this new more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 157.48 x 236.22 x 35.56mm | 703.06g
  • Oxford University Press Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Revised
  • 2nd Revised edition
  • 9 halftones, 57 music examples
  • 0195172019
  • 9780195172010
  • 826,810

Review quote

The Master Musicians are the classics of the repertoire. * Nicholas Kenyon, The Sunday Times *show more

About Malcolm MacDonald

A frequent lecturer and broadcaster, Malcolm MacDonald is the Editor of Tempo, the independent quarterly review of modern music, and the author, most recently, of Varese, Astronomer in more

Table of contents

Preface to Revised Edition ; List of Illustrations ; 1. Peripetia (1908-1913) ; 2. The Past (1874-1907) ; 3. Consolidation (1914-1933) ; 4. In the wilderness (1933-1951) ; 5. Heart and Brain ; 6. Style ; 7. Choral music ; 8. Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra ; 9. Chamber music ; 10. Solo keyboard music ; 11. The Songs ; 12. Three stage works ; 13. Miscellany ; 14. Unfinished Torsos ; 15. and idea ; Epilogue ; Appendix A: Calendar ; Appendix B: Catalogue of Works ; Appendix C: Personalia ; Appendix D: Bibliography ; Indexshow more

Rating details

7 ratings
4.14 out of 5 stars
5 29% (2)
4 57% (4)
3 14% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X