Scenes of Clerical Life

Scenes of Clerical Life

3.76 (2,136 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Volume editor 

List price: US$6.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


"The sad fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton", "Mr Gilfil's love-story" and "Janet's repentance", are the three stories which make up this, George Eliot's first work of fiction, published anonymously in "Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine" in 1857. In these stories George Eliot aimed to present, as truthfully as possible, the lives of ordinary men and women, their joys and suffering, their emotions, their conceptions of life and their human weaknesses, in such a way that they might capture the reader's sympathy and compassion. This edition reproduces the text of the same editor's Clarendon edition, based on the first volume printing collated with later editions and with the manuscript. Thomas Noble is author of "George Eliot's scenes of clerical life" and the chronology is by Gordon S. more

Product details

  • Paperback | 328 pages
  • 116.84 x 182.88 x 15.24mm | 181.44g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Paperbacks
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0192817868
  • 9780192817860

Table of contents

Introduction. Note on the text. Select bibliography. A chronology of George Eliot. "Scenes of clerical life". "The sad fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton"; "Mr Gilfil's love-story"; "Janet's repentance". Explanatory more

Rating details

2,136 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 28% (593)
4 34% (718)
3 28% (604)
2 8% (167)
1 3% (54)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X