Scarlet Ibis

Scarlet Ibis

4.13 (204 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.17

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Longlisted for the 2015 Carnegie Medal.Red asks, 'Will we always be together?' 'Always,' I say. 'Just you and me in that little boat, watching the scarlet ibis flying back to the Caroni Swamp.' Scarlet's used to looking after her brother, Red. He's special - different. Every night she tells him his favourite story - about the day they'll fly far away to the Caroni Swamp in Trinidad, where thousands of birds fill the sky. But when Scarlet and Red are split up and sent to live with different foster families, Scarlet knows she's got to do whatever it takes to get her brother back ...A wonderfully moving new novel from the author of Sky Hawk and White Dolphin.show more

Product details

  • 9+
  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 134 x 214 x 15mm | 200g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0192793551
  • 9780192793553
  • 128,109

Review quote

Praise for Gill Lewis' novels: Opens your eyes, touches your heart, and is so engaging it almost turns the pages for you. Michael Morpurgo Moving, gripping and full of well-drawn, convincing characters, this is a powerful and inspirational book. Daily Mail Exciting yet sensitive, tender and thought-provoking. Booktrust ... a beautiful read with a fast paced plot and ends with an uplifting message of emotional survival and hope. We Love This Book This is a lyrical, emotive, engrossing adventure. Sunday Times, Nicolette Jones A beautifully-told, nail-biting tale, that will inspire and empower anyone who reads it. Kate Humble I absolutely loved this beautiful tale of friendship and hope. There's obvious appeal for fans of Lauren St John and Michael Morpurgo, and she's most definitely a writer to watch. Bookseller I read the book in more or less a single sitting, then at the end I skipped back to read the best bits again. There aren't many novels you can say that about. Lorna Bradbury, The Telegraph I absolutely loved this: a deeply moving account of two siblings sent to live with foster families...A powerful and emotional story. Fiona Noble, The Bookseller Lewis makes you feel as though you are there with Scarlet and Red fighting their fights and feeling their pain. Charlotte Seager, The Guardian A touching story that embraces tough but realistic issues. Parents in Touch The pages fly by, as Lewis's confident, economical prose takes the reader up, up and away. Alex O'Connell (Children's book of the Week), The Times Flawed but believable characters... create a highly original narrative. Sally Morris, Daily Mail Emotional, but ultimately uplifting...With such vivid characterisations and engaging writing, you can't help but be carried away. Keeba Roy, Mail Online A tale full of heart and hope. Wrd About Books, SLA Acclaimed author of Sky Hawk Gill Lewis reminds us of the importance of nature during childhood. BBC Wildlifeshow more

About Gill Lewis

Gill Lewis spent much of her childhood in the garden where she ran a small zoo and a veterinary hospital for creepy-crawlies, mice, and birds. When she grew up she became a real vet and travelled from the Arctic to Africa in search of interesting animals and places. Gill now writes books for children. Her previous novels, Sky Hawk, White Dolphin, and Moon Bear published to worldwide critical acclaim and have been translated into more than twenty languages. She lives in the depths of Somerset with her husband and three children and writes from a tree house in the company of squirrels.show more

Rating details

204 ratings
4.13 out of 5 stars
5 42% (85)
4 36% (73)
3 18% (36)
2 4% (8)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X