Saving Lucas Biggs

Saving Lucas Biggs

3.77 (1,740 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team Marisa de los Santos and David Teague follows one girl's race to change the past in order to save her father's future.

Thirteen-year-old Margaret knows her father is innocent, but that doesn't stop the cruel Judge Biggs from sentencing him to death. Margaret is determined to save her dad, even if it means using her family's secret-and forbidden-ability to time travel. With the help of her best friend, Charlie, and his grandpa Josh, Margaret goes back to a time when Judge Biggs was a young boy and tries to prevent the chain of events that transformed him into a corrupt, jaded man. But with the forces of history working against her, will Margaret be able to change the past? Or will she be pushed back to a present in which her father is still doomed?

Told in alternating voices between Margaret and Josh, this heartwarming story shows that sometimes the forces of good need a little extra help to triumph over the forces of evil.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 132.08 x 190.5 x 33.02mm | 218g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062274635
  • 9780062274632
  • 629,178

Review quote

"This book is hard to put down! Vivid and memorable, SAVING LUCAS BIGGS casts a captivating spell that will keep you turning pages. A heartfelt yarn of family, friendship, and homespun time-travel magic." -- Ingrid Law, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of SAVVY "A riveting time-travel adventure. Strong storytelling, suspense, lyrical writing, high drama, weighty matters made accessible and a bit of humor add up to a terrific and heartwarming read." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "The authors weave a tale of justice and family bonds with threads of historical fiction accented with the fantastical physics of time travel." -- School Library Journal (starred review) De los Santos and Teague craft a gentle, quiet sci-fi story where the focus is not on the, nonviolence, and social justice are. Give this one to readers who like stories about family, doing the right thing, and standing up to those who don't. -- Booklist "The authors' graceful use of language and fearless exploration of a more spiritual dimension simultaneously comfort and challenge readers, encouraging deep thoughts. This novel makes a good companion for armchair time travelers and budding philosophers alike." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

Back cover copy

To save her father's future, she'll have to change the past.

When the cruel Judge Biggs wrongfully convicts Margaret's dad of a crime he didn't commit, Margaret is determined to do something, even if it means using her family's secret-- and forbidden--ability to time travel to save her dad.

With the help of her best friend, Charlie, and his grandpa Josh, Margaret jumps back in time to stop the chain of events that turned Lucas Biggs into the corrupt and jaded man who sentenced her dad. But the rules of time travel are strict, and the forces of history resist Margaret's attempts to alter the past. Margaret is running out of chances before she will be pushed back to the present, where her father is doomed, and where, without Judge Biggs's help, Margaret will lose her father forever.
show more

About Marisa de los Santos

A New York Times bestselling author and award-winning poet with a PhD in literature and creative writing, Marisa de los Santos lives in Wilmington, Delaware, with her family. Marisa de los Santos has published three New York Times bestselling novels for adults, including Love Walked In and Belong to Me, while David Teague is the author of the picture book Franklin's Big Dreams. Together, they are the authors of Saving Lucas Biggs and Connect the Stars. Married for over twenty years, Marisa and David live with their two children, Charles and Annabel, and their Yorkies, Finn and Huxley, in Wilmington, Delaware.
show more

Rating details

1,740 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 22% (385)
4 42% (734)
3 28% (484)
2 6% (110)
1 2% (27)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X