Saving Francesca
23%
off

Saving Francesca

3.96 (26,530 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will. A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska. Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian's, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about. Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca--until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and--hardest of all--herself. Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 243 pages
  • 132.1 x 198.1 x 20.3mm | 226.8g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Random House Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0375829830
  • 9780375829833
  • 89,251

About Melina Marchetta

Melina Marchetta lives in Sydney, Australia, where she is a teacher. She is also the author of Looking for Alibrandi, which received numerous awards and was released as a major Australian film. Saving Francesca is her second novel.show more

Flap copy

"MOST OF MY friends now go to Pius Senior College, but my mother wouldn't allow it because she says the girls there leave with limited options and she didn't bring me up to have limitations placed upon me. If you know my mother, you'll sense there's an irony there, based on the fact that she is the Queen of the Limitation Placers in my life. Francesca battles her mother, Mia, constantly over what's best for her. All Francesca wants is her old friends and her old school, but instead Mia sends her to St. Sebastian's, an all-boys' school that has just opened its doors to girls. Now Francesca's surrounded by hundreds of boys, with only a few other girls for company. All of them weirdos--or worse. Then one day, Mia is too depressed to get out of bed. One day turns into months, and as her family begins to fall apart, Francesca realizes that without her mother's high spirits, she hardly knows who she is. But she doesn't yet realize that she's more like Mia than she thinks. With a little unlikely help from St. Sebastian's, she just might be able to save her family, her friends, and--especially--herself. "From the Hardcover edition.show more

Review quote

-Sparkling dialogue and engaging characters...Francesca's messy, credible array of emotions and problems will keep readers absorbed to the last, satisfying line.---Kirkus Reviews, Starred -A rich exploration of maturation, identity, family, and friendship.- --The Bulletin, Starred -Readers will applaud the realistic complexity in the relationships here, the genuine love between the characters, as well as Francesca's ultimate decision to save herself.---Publishers Weekly, Starred -Teens will relate to this tender novel and will take to heart its solid messages and realistic treatment of a very real problem.---School Library Journal, Starredshow more

Rating details

26,530 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 35% (9,243)
4 37% (9,798)
3 20% (5,418)
2 5% (1,452)
1 2% (619)

Our customer reviews

Saving Francesca is about a 16 years old girl that is having a lot of changes in her life and how she deal or not deal with them. She�?�´s at a new school where the majority are boys (used to be an all-boys school); all her friends went to a different school, so she hates it. Her mother Mia is having a nervous breakdown and she�?�´s the rock of the family, the person that keep them together and when Mia get depressed they�?�´re lost. I LOVE Thomas Mackee, he�?�´s so funny(LOL) and Jimmy Hailer interactions with Francesca and Mia are great! I enjoy this book, one minute I was sad for Francesca and the next minute I was laughing. Saving Francesca is a great book and is a MUST read, it�?�´s about friendship, family and maybe love .show more
by Adriana Cabrera
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X