A Saint-Saens Organ Album

A Saint-Saens Organ Album

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (composer)  , Arranged by (music) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


This is a wonderful collection of popular and some less well-known pieces. It contains three movements from The Carnival of the Animals, the slow movement and the famous Maestoso section from the 'Organ' Symphony (No. 3), the meltingly beautiful aria 'Softly awakes my heart' from the opera Samson and Delilah, the opening section of the Danse Macabre, and several other pieces illustrating the range of Saint-Saens' compositional style. All the pieces are immensely playable and have been chosen to suit the needs of both church and concert organists.
show more

Product details

  • Sheet music | 64 pages
  • 230 x 305 x 4mm | 241g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0193355922
  • 9780193355927
  • 991,188

About Camille Saint-Saens

Martin Setchell is an international concert organist who promotes entertaining organ music to a wide audience. Born and educated in England, he is based in New Zealand, as curator of the Rieger organ in Christchurch Town Hall, and Associate Professor of Music at the University of Canterbury. He regularly performs throughout the world, including tours in Europe, USA, Canada, Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, and Japan. He has recorded several CDs, including
A Taste of Shropshire, the highly successful Bonbons for Organ series, and Pink and White, an anthology of New Zealand organ music. Martin is often heard on BBC radio's The Organist Entertains, the USA's Pipe Dreams, and Radio New Zealand's concert programme. He has arranged Faure, Bizet, and Sousa
(Kevin Mayhew Music), and edited OUP's A Saint-Saens Organ Album. He holds a Civic Award from the City of Christchurch for services to music in the community and the Town Hall organ in particular.
show more

Review quote

The Saint-Saens Organ Album is a much more varied and subtle collection of arrangements. It is prefaced with an informative introduction and there are very full and useful notes on each piece. The volume is beautifully produced and the covers feature details from the organ case (1849) in St Eustache, Paris . . . This collection proves the point and is highly recommended. * Bruce Steele, Organ Australia, Sept 07 * This is an outstanding book and will meet a wide variety of needs. * Trevor Webb, Church Music Quarterly September 2007 *
show more

Table of contents

Three pieces from The Carnival of the Animals: The Elephant, The Cuckoo, The Swan ; Danse Macabre ; Organ Symphony No. 3: Poco Adagio, Maestoso ; O Salutaris hostia, from Mass Op. 4 ; Prelude: Pastorale in the style of J. S. Bach, from The Christmas Oratorio ; Prelude to The Flood ; Priere ; Softly awakes my heart, from Samson and Delilah
show more

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X