The Safe Place
15%
off

The Safe Place : The most addictive summer thriller

3.7 (8,576 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

NO PHONES
NO OUTSIDERS
NO ESCAPE

'An exciting and compelling new voice, Anna Downes' The Safe Place is a very accomplished debut' B.A. Paris, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Dilemma

Rated 4.5 * on NetGalley, this international bestseller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Lesley Kara and Ruth Ware

A BEAUTIFUL HOME MIGHT HIDE DANGEROUS SECRETS

Emily Proudman has been offered the chance of a lifetime - leave her messy London life, move to a beautiful estate in France and help her boss' wife take care of their daughter, Aurelia. It seems like the perfect opportunity to start again.

But once there, Emily soon starts to suspect that her charismatic new employers aren't telling her the whole truth. That there are even dangerous secrets hidden beneath the glamourous facade.

Rather than throwing herself headlong into this oasis of wine-soaked days by the pool, Emily can't help but ask questions. Why have the family been moved to this isolated house so far from home? Why does Aurelia refuse to speak or be touched? Why are there whispers in the night?

The only problem is, the more Emily knows, the less chance there is she will ever be able to leave . . .

PRAISE FOR THE SAFE PLACE

'Tense and atmospheric with the seemingly idyllic, yet eerie, setting. A truly gripping read'
Karen Hamilton, bestselling author of The Perfect Girlfriend

'An outstanding debut. The Safe Place is destined to be a book club favourite'
Chris Hammer, award-winning author of Scrublands

'It's such a rare thing - a claustrophobic, addictive thriller that lets you actually feel for all of the characters involved'
Gytha Lodge, bestselling author of She Lies in Wait

'Compellingly disturbing. Anna Downes is a powerful story writer who will lull you into a false sense of security - and then pounce. An author to be watched'
Jane Corry, bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

'A brilliantly atmospheric novel that keeps you equally gripped and unsettled from page one. Starkly original and with an alarmingly plausible premise, this is destined to be a bestseller'
J.P. Pomare, bestselling author of Call Me Evie

'A dark and wonderful debut that lulls you in with beautiful prose and complex, believable characters, then beats you over the head with a killer plot and a thrilling climax. Everyone will be talking about this book!'
Christian White, bestselling author of The Nowhere Child
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 28mm | 260g
  • Hodder Paperback
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1529375096
  • 9781529375091
  • 220,595

Review quote

The tension ratchets up and up in this beautifully paced thriller - an outstanding debut which is atmospheric and populated by complex and sympathetic characters. You'll be thinking about them long after you've finished reading. The Safe Place is destined to be a book club favourite, as readers debate the morality and motivation driving the characters and plot * Chris Hammer, award-winning author of Scrublands * It's such a rare thing - a claustrophobic, addictive thriller that lets you actually feel for all of the characters involved. Anna has such skill in combining the heart-in-mouth feeling that everything is building to a disaster with genuine emotion * Gytha Lodge, bestselling author of, She Lies in Wait * A brilliantly atmospheric novel that keeps you equally gripped and unsettled from page one. Starkly original and with an alarmingly plausible premise, this is destined to be a bestseller * Call Me Evie * The Safe Place is a dark and wonderful debut that lulls you in with beautiful prose and complex, believable characters, then beats you over the head with a killer plot and a thrilling climax. It's the kind of book you race through as quickly as you can so you can start it again. Everyone will be talking about this book! * Christian White, author of The Nowhere Child and The Wife and the Widow * The Safe Place is compellingly disturbing. Anna Downes is a powerful story writer who will lull you into a false sense of security - and then pounce. An author to be watched * Jane Corry, The Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband's Wife and I Made a Mistake * I loved THE SAFE PLACE... it was tense and atmospheric with the seemingly idyllic yet eerie setting. A truly gripping read * Karen Hamilton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller The Perfect Girlfriend * An exciting and compelling new voice, Anna Downes' The Safe Place is a very accomplished debut * B.A. Paris * I was completely captivated, which, let me tell you, is rare these days. I loved the characters, how clearly they were painted, their quirks, their flaws and strengths, and I blazed through the book. Richly evocative with a dark, atmospheric heart, THE SAFE PLACE is seductive, irresistible and suspenseful. I was completely gripped from the first page to the pulse-pounding end. I recommend reading THE SAFE PLACE poolside with a strawberry margarita in hand. It's the perfect summer suspense. Five stars from me * Christina McDonald, author of The Night Olivia Fell * As thrilling and gripping as everyone is saying. Can't wait to see this making a splash in the book world on its release. Put this on your #mustread list now * Kate Mildenhall, author of The Mother Fault * A gripping, brilliantly written thriller * The Sun * The Safe Place by Anna Downes is truly a one-sitting read for me as once I'd started it, I honestly couldn't stop. Anna's writing is so immersive that I was with her protagonist Emily every step of the way until the very end, when I realized I'd forgotten to breathe! A mesmerizing debut * Sandie Jones, author of The New York Times bestseller The Other Woman * When something seems too good to be true, it probably is. A captivating narration by author Anna Downes adds that extra spark to her neo-gothic novel . . . Downes knows her characters and delivers them with professional expertise, original plotting, and a masterful performance. She creates an uneasy atmosphere from the first, adding layers of uncertainty that cause Emily (and the listener) to question reality. Chilling. Disturbing. A nail-biter to the end. * Audiofile Magazine * A great read and one that should be made in one sitting * WW Magazine *
show more

About Anna Downes

Anna Downes was born in Sheffield, UK, but now lives just north of Sydney, Australia. She worked as an actress before turning to writing and appeared in television dramas such as Eastenders, Casualty, Holby City, and Dalziel and Pascoe. Her writing has been shortlisted for the Sydney Writers Room Short Story Prize and longlisted for the Margaret River Short Story Competition.

The Safe Place was inspired by Anna's experiences working as a housekeeper on a remote French estate.
@WhatAnnaWrote
show more

Rating details

8,576 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 19% (1,610)
4 42% (3,611)
3 31% (2,690)
2 6% (532)
1 2% (133)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X