The Rules of Modern Policing - 1973 Edition
38%
off

The Rules of Modern Policing - 1973 Edition : (Life on Mars)

3.96 (112 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Don't move! You're surrounded by armed bastards!' Viewers of Life on Mars could be forgiven for thinking that the police force of the 1970s lived by the maxim 'The rules are: there are no rules', yet it turns out that this was not the case. A fascinating historical document has now emerged which shows that there were indeed rules and in 1973 they were recorded on paper by none other than DCI Gene Hunt himself. Divided into ten sections, The Rules of Modern Policing - 1973 Edition covers everything from interrogating suspects and undercover operations to driving and dress code. Several of the rules are illustrated with diagrams, and photographs of DCI Hunt himself illustrate the more physical parts of the job: how to hit suspects so you don't leave a mark; how to signal the importance of your arrival by crashing into inanimate objects (cardboard boxes are a perfect example here - lots of noise; no damage to your motor); how to roll over the bonnet of your cortina without making a dick of yourself. Completing the book is an invaluable glossary of police terms, covering everything from blag to lag, and nonce to ponce. An essential reference work for fans of Life of Mars, The Rules of Modern Policing offers a unique insight to seventies' law enforcement that will make you laugh until you cry like the wet little turd you are.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 128 pages
  • 128 x 180 x 16mm | 258.55g
  • Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • BANTAM PRESS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • UK ed.
  • Full-colour throughout
  • 0593060202
  • 9780593060209
  • 121,865

About Guy Adams

'DCI Gene Hunt is an overweight, over-the-hill, nicotine-stained, borderline-alcoholic homophobe with a superiority complex and an unhealthy obsession with male bonding.' Detective Inspector Sam Tylershow more

Rating details

112 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 30% (34)
4 44% (49)
3 19% (21)
2 6% (7)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X