Rufus Blasts Off

Rufus Blasts Off

3.47 (70 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Rufus the pig has already sailed the seven seas on a pirate ship. Now he dreams of the Moon, the stars and Mars! So he bids his mateys goodbye and reports for duty at the space centre. But Commander Luna tells him: "No pigs in space!" Why? Because Pigs pester the pilot, squeeze out all the toothpaste, do loop-the-loops in the cabin and they always want to push buttons. Then Luna learns that she needs someone to read a book live from the Red Planet or the mission is scrubbed. Once again, Rufus must use his reading abilities to make his dreams come true. This is the third tale about the adventurous pig, Rufus.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 40 pages
  • 254 x 254 x 12.7mm | 476.27g
  • STERLING
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Full colour illustrations
  • 1454920998
  • 9781454920991
  • 1,554,171

Review quote

Persuasive pig Rufus Leroy Williams III shatters the porcine glass ceiling . . . Those who love pigs, pirates, and planets are sure to be pleased.--Kirkus Reviews "Rufus the pig's pirate shipmates are tired of all his books and want new stories. He comes up with a plan--he'll find new tales in space!--but his voyage has a firm opponent. 'No pigs in space, ' says Commander Luna, who has good reasons: pigs leave nose prints on the view screens. They do cabin loop-the-loops. And they always want to press the buttons. Rufus tries and tries to win the commander over, but it's not until his reading skills are needed aboard that he finally blasts off. This amusing tale of a blankie-toting piglet will win over readers galore, even those who haven't read Griswell's and Gorbachev's Rufus Goes to School and Rufus Goes to Sea. It is gorgeously accompanied by bright, whimsical watercolors of the little astronaut, illustrations in which kids will find plenty of details to point out and savor. Persistent kids will love the vindication here; the book is also perfect for fans of Where the Wild Things Are, as it too features a voyage by a kid who doesn't play by the rules. VERDICT A great storytime choice for young book lovers and adventurers." --School Library Journal

"Book-loving pig Rufus seeks extraterrestrial adventures in his third outing. . . . Rufus's fans should be tickled." --Publishers Weekly

"Those who love pigs, pirates, and planets are sure to be pleased." --Kirkus Reviews
show more

About Kim Griswell

Kim T. Griswell spends her days developing and editing children's books. Kim spent six years as coordinating editor of Highlights for Children and three more years as a Senior Editor for Highlights' trade book publisher, Boyds Mills Press. Kim has taught writing workshops all over the country, including for the Highlights Foundation. She has published hundreds of short stories, articles, and columns in magazines and books. Kim is the author of two previous picture books about our intrepid pink hero: Rufus Goes to School and Rufus Goes to Sea (both published by Sterling and both Oregon Book Awards finalists). She lives in Ashland, OR and is available for interview. Visit Kim at kimgriswell.com, and on twitter at @kimgriswell.

Valeri Gorbachev emigrated from his native Ukraine to the US in 1991, and now lives in Brooklyn, NY. He has written and/or illustrated more than 50 children's books, including the first two Rufus stories, Rufus Goes to School and Rufus Goes to Sea (Sterling), as well as Turtle's Penguin Day and The Giant Hug by Sandra Horning (both Knopf).
show more

Rating details

70 ratings
3.47 out of 5 stars
5 13% (9)
4 34% (24)
3 40% (28)
2 13% (9)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X