Ruddy Gore

Ruddy Gore

3.83 (5,375 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

From the author of the bestselling Phryne Fisher Series comes Ruddy Gore, the next historical mystery featuring the unstoppable, elegant amateur sleuth. Can Miss Fisher use her theater ties to take care of a phantasm haunting a Gilbert and Sullivan show?

"The appeal of this story is the glimpse it provides into the 1920s theater world and the opportunity it affords to observe Phryne and Lin Chung's romance from its inception."--Booklist

Perfect for Fans of Rhys Bowen and Jacqueline WinspearInspired the Netflix show Miss Fisher's Murder MysteriesMovie Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears Currently Streaming on Acorn TVOne of the top-selling, best murder mystery books of 2018

Running late to the Hinkler gala performance of Gilbert and Sullivan's Ruddigore, Phryne Fisher meets some thugs in a dark alley and handles them convincingly before they can ruin her silver dress. Phryne then finds that she has rescued the handsome Lin Chung and his grandmother and is briefly mistaken for a deity.

Denying divinity but accepting cognac, she later continues safely to the theatre. But it seems the lead is dressed for death, as the performance is interrupted by a most bizarre death onstage. What links can Phryne possibly find between the ridiculously entertaining plot of Ruddigore, the Chinese community of Little Bourke Street, and the actors treading the boards of His Majesty's Theatre?

Drawn backstage and onstage, Phryne must solve an old murder, find a new murderer and of course, banish the theatre's ghost--who seems likely to kill again.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 218 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 13mm | 284g
  • Scottsdale, United States
  • English
  • 401:B&W 5.5 x 8.5 in or 216 x 140 mm (Demy 8vo) Perfect Bound on Creme w/Matte Lam
  • 1590583140
  • 9781590583142
  • 31,713

Review quote

Praise for The Castlemaine Murders
"Greenwood weaves historical data into the plot like gold thread, giving it richness without weighing it down."
-- Jenny McLarin, Booklist
show more

About Kerry Greenwood

Kerry Greenwood was born in the Melbourne suburb of Footscray and after wandering far and wide, she returned to live there. She has degrees in English and Law from Melbourne University and was admitted to the legal profession on the 1st April 1982, a day which she finds both soothing and significant. Kerry has written three series, a number of plays, including The Troubadours with Stephen D'Arcy, is an award-winning children's writer and has edited and contributed to several anthologies. The Phryne Fisher series (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) began in 1989 with Cocaine Blues which was a great success. Kerry has written twenty books in this series with no sign yet of Miss Fisher hanging up her pearl-handled pistol. Kerry says that as long as people want to read them, she can keep writing them. In 2003 Kerry won the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Australian Association.
show more

Rating details

5,375 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 25% (1,342)
4 39% (2,090)
3 31% (1,657)
2 5% (242)
1 1% (44)

Our customer reviews

Ruddy Gore is the seventh novel in the Phryne Fisher series by Kerry Greenwood. In an eventful night attending a gala performance of Gilbert and Sullivan's Ruddigore at His Majesty's theatre, Phryne and Bunji Ross first rescue an old Chinese woman and her grandson from thugs, then witness the effects of two attempted poisonings. The theatre manager, Sir Bernard Tarrant, implores Phryne to investigate the strange goings-on that have the cast spooked: missing gloves, faked notes, torn up telegrams, whiskey dyed green and the appearance of the ghost of the long-dead Dorothea Curtis, who played the first Rose Maybud. As Phryne works behind the scenes to find answers, she is confronted by a large cast of possible suspects. The Chinese grandson, Lin Chung, keeps turning up, and Phryne finds herself being observed by Chinese wherever she goes. Whilst a working knowledge of Gilbert and Sullivan plays is not essential, it might be helpful for the reader. In the course of her investigations, Phryne attends a spiritualists meeting, searches for lockets and missing babies, looks for birthmarks on several backs, gets a Welsh letter translated, drinks lots of tea and narrowly misses being flattened by a curtain counterweight. Bert Hinkler makes a brief appearance. As usual, Phryne manages to unravel the clues and solve each mystery. Another Greenwood masterpiece.show more
by Marianne Vincent
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X