Roomies
27%
off

Roomies

3.87 (24,479 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'One of the most romantic meet-cutes I have ever read' Frolic

Marriages of convenience can be so . . . inconvenient.

From subway . . .

Monday night. Wednesday morning. Friday lunchtime. Holland Bakker plans her journeys to work around the times handsome Irish musician, Calvin McLoughlin, plays his guitar in the 50th Street subway station. Lacking the nerve to actually talk to the gorgeous stranger, Holland is destined to admire him from a distance. Then a near-tragedy causes her busker to come to her rescue, only to disappear when the police start asking questions.

To Broadway . . .

Keen to repay Calvin, Holland gets him an audition with her uncle, Broadway's hottest musical director. When he aces the tryout, Calvin's luck seems to have turned - until his reason for disappearing earlier becomes clear: he doesn't have a visa.

To happy ever after?

Impulsively, Holland offers to wed the Irishman to keep him in New York. Calvin becomes the darling of Broadway, while their relationship evolves from awkward roommates to besotted lovers. Yet surrounded by theatre and actors, what will it take for Holland and Calvin to realise that they both stopped pretending a long time ago?

***

Find out why readers LOVE Christina Lauren:

'Witty and downright hilarious . . . perfect feel-good romantic comedy' Helen Hoang, author of The Kiss Quotient

'Pure joy' Sally Thorne, bestselling author of The Hating Game

'What a joyful, warm, touching book! This is the book to read if you want to smile so hard your face hurts' Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author of The Proposal

'A sexy, hilarious rom-com . . . Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Sally Thorne' Booklist

'Will we ever stop falling in love with Christina Lauren's fictional men? The answer to this is HECK NO' Fangirlish

'This book has everything that makes romance novels great . . . another knockout by Lauren' Kirkus Reviews

'One of our 10 best romances of 2017. A+' Entertainment Weekly

'Christina Lauren have fast become my go-to for sexy, honest contemporary romance' Heroes and Heartbreakers
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 129 x 200 x 22mm | 248g
  • PIATKUS BOOKS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0349417555
  • 9780349417554
  • 5,839

Review Text

This book has everything that makes romance novels great: a heroine's journey to self-discovery, a leading man worthy of a woman's love, and plenty of misty tears and full-on belly laughs along the way. Another knockout by Lauren Kirkus Reviews
show more

Review quote

One of the most romantic meet-cutes I have ever read * Frolic * I absolutely fell in love with this book. [It's] an amazing love story . . . sweet, lighthearted, sexy, funny, and it was exactly what I needed * Steamy Reads (5 Star Review) * Is there anything quite like a new Christina Lauren book? Holland and Calvin. I loved them. They made me laugh and delivered plenty of feels along the way. But, most of all, this book just made me happy. It's a cheesy grin type of read and one I'm destined to reread for a long time to come * Kimberly Faye Reads * Deliciously steamy * Entertainment Weekly on Beautiful Bastard * Christina Lauren is back in top form in this light, funny, and unflinchingly honest stand-alone novel about growing up, standing up, and falling in love * RT Book Reviews (top pick) on Dating You / Hating You * A sexy, sweet treasure of a story. I loved every word -- Sylvia Day on Sweet Filthy Boy Smart and sexy . . . Lola can't believe that someone as wonderful as Oliver (he is rather wonderful) would ever love her, and Lauren captures her insecurities in a powerful way that will hit close to home for many * The Washington Post on Dark Wild Night * Funny, feminist, and a great example of a modern romance . . . Evie is amazing and will go down in history as one of the best heroines I've read -- Smart Bitches, Trashy Books on Dating You / Hating You Smart, sexy, and satisfying . . . destined to become a romance classic -- Tara Sue Me on Beautiful Bastard Lauren brings her characteristic charm to the story. Holland's tale is more than an unrequited crush; it's about self-expectations, problematic friendships, unconventional family, and the strange power of love * Booklist * For decades, the tale of a marriage of convenience that becomes something more has inspired countless romances. With Roomies, Christina Lauren put a fresh, modern spin on the trope with their completely un-put-down-able green card romp.... Lauren masters rom-com banter and plotting, while also reminding us that the best entries in the genre are all about recognizing our own value regardless of relationship status. One of our 10 best romances of 2017. A+ * Entertainment Weekly * Roomies is sweet, touching and romantic * BJ's Book Blog * Lauren's standalone brims with authentic characters and a captivating plot * Publishers Weekly (starred review) * This book has everything that makes romance novels great: a heroine's journey to self-discovery, a leading man worthy of a woman's love, and plenty of misty tears and full-on belly laughs along the way. Another knockout by Lauren * Kirkus Reviews *
show more

About Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of longtime writing partners/besties/soulmates and brain-twins Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings, the New York Times, USA TODAY, and #1 international bestselling authors of the Beautiful and Wild Seasons series, Sublime, The House, and Autoboyography.

You can find them online at ChristinaLaurenBooks.com, Facebook.com/ChristinaLaurenBooks, or @ChristinaLauren on Twitter.
show more

Rating details

24,479 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 27% (6,520)
4 43% (10,500)
3 24% (5,825)
2 5% (1,190)
1 2% (444)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X