Romancing the Dark in the City of Light

Romancing the Dark in the City of Light

3.32 (665 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$18.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Haunting and beautifully written, with a sharp and distinctive voice that could belong only to this character, Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is an unforgettable young adult novel.

Summer Barnes just moved to Paris to repeat her senior year of high school. After being kicked out of four boarding schools, she has to get on the right track or she risks losing her hefty inheritance. Summer is convinced that meeting the right guy will solve everything. She meets two. Moony, a classmate, is recovering against all odds from a serious car accident, and he encourages Summer to embrace life despite how hard it can be to make it through even one day. But when Summer meets Kurt, a hot, mysterious older man who she just can't shake, he leads her through the creepy underbelly of the city-and way out of her depth.

When Summer's behavior manage to alienate everyone, even Moony, she's forced to decide if a life so difficult is worth living. With an ending that'll surprise even the most seasoned reader, Ann Jacobus' Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is an unputdownable and utterly compelling novel.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 145 x 221 x 28mm | 363g
  • New York
  • English
  • 1250064430
  • 9781250064431
  • 1,270,800

Review quote

"A vivid portrayal of a girl in love with love and death. The story flows...with all the gritty glamour of a black and white French film." --Richard Peck, Newbery Medal winner and National Book Award Finalist"Seductive, unexpected, and emotionally complex, Summer's story will take you from the darkest corners of Paris to the haunted depths of the human heart. A perfect pick for fans of "We Were Liars" or "I'll Give You The Sun."" --Catherine Linka, author of A Girl Called Fearless"As I read this book, I immediately thought of "Anna and the French Kiss." An amazing novel of despair, destruction and rebirth." --"Melissa Buron, author and librarian"
show more

About Ann Jacobus

ANN JACOBUS graduated from Dartmouth College, and earned her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She's published short fiction, essays and poetry and blogs regularly about writing and YA. Jacobus lives in San Francisco and Chappaquiddick with her family. Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is her first novel.
show more

Rating details

665 ratings
3.32 out of 5 stars
5 20% (132)
4 26% (173)
3 29% (195)
2 17% (112)
1 8% (53)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X