Roger Sessions

Roger Sessions : How a "Difficult" Composer Got That Way

4.25 (4 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Composer Roger Sessions was a commanding figure on the American musical scene. He enjoyed the solid respect of his peers, and as a teacher of a generation of composers and author of compelling writings on his craft, his influence on musical thought remains profound. Yet, even in his lifetime, his music endured vastly disrespectful neglect. He was a "difficult" composer. Sessions was well aware of it. In a New York Times article, he wrote, "I have sometimes been told that my music is 'difficult' for the listener. There are those who consider this as praise, those who consider it a reproach. For my part I regard it as, in itself, neither one or the is the way the music comes, the way it has to come." The way Sessions's music "had to come" is a recurrent focus of this biography. As the story is told, often in the composer's own words, the complex picture emerges of a remarkable man who, gradually and not very willingly, learned to accept his unexpected lot as a "difficult" composer.
Frederik Prausnitz, an acquaintance of Sessions and conductor of his work, combines personal and musical insights to present this fascinating portrait of an influential, yet often overlooked, modernist composer.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 156 x 236 x 32mm | 662.24g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New
  • numerous halftones and music examples
  • 0195108922
  • 9780195108927

Review quote

A thorough study of previously unpublished materials. * Symphony *
show more

About Frederik Prausnitz

Frederik Prausnitz, now retired, was a conductor with the BBC Symphony, the New Philharmonia Orchestra of London, the English Chamber Orchestra, the Juilliard Orchestra, and his own chamber ensemble. He also taught in the conducting program at the Peabody Conservatory of Music for many years. In 1974, he was the recipient of the American Bruckner Society's Mahler Medal of Honor. Roger Sessions's Ninth Symphony is dedicated to
show more

Rating details

4 ratings
4.25 out of 5 stars
5 25% (1)
4 75% (3)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X