The Roanoke Girls

The Roanoke Girls : the gripping Richard & Judy thriller and #1 bestseller

3.72 (16,050 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.66

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'Dark and intense, [with] a compelling twist which will remain with you' L.S. Hilton, author of Maestra. The taboo-breaking thriller of the year, perfect for fans of Emma Cline's The Girls.

Beautiful.
Rich.
Mysterious.
Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl.

But you won't when you know the truth.

Lane Roanoke is fifteen when she comes to live with her maternal grandparents and fireball cousin, Allegra, at the Roanoke family's rural estate following the suicide of her mother. Over one long, hot summer, Lane experiences the benefits of being one of the rich and beautiful Roanoke girls.

But what she doesn't know is being a Roanoke girl carries a terrible legacy: either the girls run, or they die. For there is darkness at the heart of Roanoke, and when Lane discovers its insidious pull, she must make her choice...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 156 x 234 x 22mm | 380g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473648394
  • 9781473648395
  • 385,452

Review Text

I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls, a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secret Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood
show more

Review quote

'An emotionally compelling page turner, The Roanoke Girls takes you inside the dark world of a twisted family and one woman's fight to break free from the chains of her own history. This is family intrigue at its very best! -- Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten A poised and haunting novel, whose enchanting prose belies its dark and intense subject matter. An evocative modern take on Southern Gothic, with a compelling twist which will remain with you long after the book's last sentence -- L.S. Hilton, author of Maestra I was immediately drawn into The Roanoke Girls, a haunting and riveting look at one family's tangled legacy. You won't stop reading until you've unraveled the darkest of Roanoke's shocking secret -- Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood
show more

About Amy Engel

Amy Engel is a former criminal defence attorney living in Missouri with her family. Her debut adult novel, The Roanoke Girls, was a #1 ebook bestseller, a Richard and Judy book club pick and has sold 100,000 copies across formats to date. The Familiar Dark is her second adult novel.
show more

Rating details

16,050 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 23% (3,759)
4 40% (6,377)
3 26% (4,184)
2 8% (1,259)
1 3% (471)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X