Rival Magic

Rival Magic

4.29 (68 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 5 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"Clever, fast-paced fantasy punctuated with surprising twists and plenty of girl power." --Kirkus Reviews
"Full of fierce girls, fabulously fun magic, humor, and so much heart. I loved it!" --Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart and Kat, Incorrigible A young wizard's apprentice discovers that the best magic is not the biggest or the brightest, but the magic unique to you, in this cinematic middle grade fantasy in the tradition of Kiki's Delivery Service and The School for Good and Evil. Antonia may not be the most powerful wizard the world has ever seen, but she's worked hard to win her place as apprentice to renowned sorcerer Master Betrys. Unfortunately, even her best dancing turnip charm might not be enough when Moppe, the scullery maid, turns out to be a magical prodigy. Now that Betrys has taken Moppe on as a second apprentice, Antonia's path to wizarding just got a bit more complicated. But when Betrys is accused of treason, Antonia and Moppe are forced to go on the run. To prove their master's innocence--and their own--the rivals must become allies. As their island province teeters on the brink of rebellion, they'll face ancient spells, vengeful mermaids, voice-stealing forests, and one insatiable sea monster.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 25mm | 381g
  • Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 6C jkt (fx: emboss on metallic+matte film); digital
  • 1534439056
  • 9781534439054
  • 2,435,708

Review quote

"Full of fierce girls, fabulously fun magic, humor, and so much heart. I loved it!"--Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart and Kat, Incorrigible
show more

Rating details

68 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 50% (34)
4 31% (21)
3 18% (12)
2 1% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X