Rites of Spring

Rites of Spring

3.55 (47 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Hardback
By (author) 

List price: US$25.06

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Paralysed by grief and guilt after his mother's death, Adam turns down a promotion to art director of an upscale men's magazine. His wife Sasha has just turned 40 and thinks that her unemployed, depressed, lying around the house smoking dope husband just doesn't fancy her any more. They are both too absorbed in themselves, their own problems and the logistics of running a household that contains two eight-year-old boys, to notice that thirteen-year-old Liffy is teetering on the verge of anorexia. And then she falls in.Liffy's aunt, Lisa, knows something is wrong, but is distracted by her work as a lecturer in music and her rollercoaster affair with a Russian pianist. Will someone see what's happening to Liffy before it's too late?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 166 x 238 x 33mm | 640g
  • Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • n/a
  • 0340839309
  • 9780340839300

Review quote

'Jessica Duchen's debut novel is captivating, imaginative and fascinating. As a musician and a mother, I recognized many of the scenarios and found the questions that were posed very poignant, both from a musical and personal perspective. The pace builds powerfully to a dramatic and ultimately very moving conclusion. Completely gripping!' -- Tasmin Little 'Adam and Sasha appear to have the perfect life - good jobs, a nice home, money and three perfect children. But as their marriage begins to unravel, their ballet-crazy daughter starts staving herself - and her parents are too preoccupied to notice. A haunting, heartbreaking novel.' -- Closer 'Liffy, the central character in Jessica Duchen's debut novel, is the teenage daughter of two career-driven parents living in an upmarket London suburb. As they struggle to make their former youthful ideals work amid the pressures of modern life, Liffy begins to shield herself mentally as her family decays around her by immersing herself in her passion - ballet. Rites of Spring draws on the image of a young girl dancing herself to death in Stravinsky's ballet to explore the impulse towards anorexia common in so many teenage girls today. Duchen paints a vivid and utterly bleak picture of modern family life, poignantly depicting Liffy's increased isolation as the people around her become so preoccupied and alienated from one another that one of the central characters, observing from a distance, wonders how people who are individually so bright, so intelligent, so nice, so creative, can collectively paper over all their problems. A sensitive and thought-provoking novel that will resona -- Femke Colborne, MUSO 'Jessica Duchen has crafted a riveting drama set within the arts world ... The neatly-composed plot charges to a climax as steadily as Ravel's Bolero, with Duchen capturing well the inner world of the pubescent girl and the London classical music scene. For fans of Joanna Trollope and Russian composers alike.' -- Classic FM Magazine 'In Jessica Duchen's novel, Sasha, a self-absorbed and self-righteous ex-dancer, is now the author of a social-commentary column and also appears on a TV arts-review show. Adam, who is a self-pitying, hard-left activist and former artist, works for an exploitative publisher. They have three children: rather repellent twin boys who reveal more likeable personalities away from their parents, and Liffy, who is an endearing 13-year old wannabe ballet-dancer who retreats into a fantasy inner-life that ultimately drags her into dangerous physical and psychological waters. Apart from three cats, most of the other characters are as unlikeable as Adam and Sasha, except for Sasha's cellist sister Lisa, whose low self-esteem and true heart makes her Liffy's only hope of understanding. As the family gradually begins to self-destruct and its members struggle towards self-realisation and a kind of redemption you'll either think 'there but for the grace of God' or, depending on your own background -- Barry Witherden, BBC Music Magazine, *****star review 'Jessica Duchen's debut novel is captivating, imaginative and fascinating. As a musician and a mother, I recognized many of the scenarios and found the questions that were posed very poignant, both from a musical and personal perspective. The pace builds powerfully to a dramatic and ultimately very moving conclusion. Completely gripping!' -- Tasmin Little 'Adam and Sasha appear to have the perfect life - good jobs, a nice home, money and three perfect children. But as their marriage begins to unravel, their ballet-crazy daughter starts staving herself - and her parents are too preoccupied to notice. A haunting, heartbreaking novel.' -- Closer 'A sensitive and thought-provoking novel that will resonate all the more for those with musical leanings.' -- Femke Colborne, MUSO 'Jessica Duchen has crafted a riveting drama set within the arts world ... The neatly-composed plot charges to a climax as steadily as Ravel's Bolero, with Duchen capturing well the inner world of the pubescent girl and the London classical music scene. For fans of Joanna Trollope and Russian composers alike.' -- Classic FM Magazine
show more

About Jessica Duchen

Jessica Duchen was born in London and grew up with music and writing as twin passions. She has written for publications including the Independent and BBC Music Magazine and as a music journalist has interviewed most of today's greatest musicians. Her books include biographies of the composers Gabriel Faure and Erich Wolfgang Korngold. She lives in south-west London with her violinist husband.
show more

Rating details

47 ratings
3.55 out of 5 stars
5 26% (12)
4 28% (13)
3 30% (14)
2 11% (5)
1 6% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X