The Risen Empire
33%
off

The Risen Empire

3.87 (2,165 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The undead Emperor has ruled his mighty interstellar empire of eighty human worlds for sixteen hundred years. Because he can grant a form of eternal life-after-death, creating an elite known as the Risen, his power is absolute. He and his sister, the Child Empress, who is eternally a little girl, are worshipped as living gods.The Rix are machine-augmented humans who worship very different gods: AI compound minds of planetary size. Cool, relentless fanatics, their only goal is to propagate such AIs. They seek to end the Emperor's prolonged rule, and supplant it with an eternal cybernetic dynasty. They begin by taking the Child Empress hostage. Captain Laurent Zai of the Imperial Frigate Lynx is tasked with her rescue.Separated by light years, bound by an unlikely love, Zai and pacifist Senator Nara Oxham must both face the challenge of the Rix, and both will hold the fate of the empire in their hands.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 349 pages
  • 134.62 x 208.28 x 20.32mm | 340.19g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0765319985
  • 9780765319982
  • 321,673

Back cover copy

"The Risen Empire" is the first great space opera of the 21st century. "The action moves with the pace of a well-executed military operation; a fascinating clash of supertechnologies. This story has everything: combat, intrigue, politics, and even an undead cat collection." -John C. Wright The undead Emperor has ruled his mighty interstellar empire of eighty human worlds for sixteen hundred years. Because he can grant a form of eternal life, creating an elite known as the Risen, his power has been absolute. He is worshipped as a living god. No one can touch him. Not until the Rix, machine-augmented humans who worship AI minds of planetary extent. The Rix are cool, relentless fanatics, whose only goal is to propagate such AIs throughout the galaxy. They seek to end the Emperor's tyranny, and replace it with an eternal cybernetic dynasty. They begin by taking hostage the Child Empress, his sister, who is eternally a little girl. Captain Laurent Zai of the Imperial Frigate Lynx is tasked with her rescue. Separated by light years, bound by an unlikely love, Zai and pacifist Senator Nara Oxham must each, in their own way, face the challenge of the Rix, as they hold the fate of the empire in their hands. From the acclaimed author of "Fine Prey," "Polymorph," and "Evolution's Darling" (Philip K. Dick Award special citation and a "New York Times" Notable Book) comes a sweeping epic, Succession, which begins in "The Risen Empire,"show more

Review quote

Literate space opera in the tradition of Isaac Asimov's Foundation series and Frank Herbert's Dune books. With a light touch all his own, Westfield illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love. "Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love." --The New York Times"Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel...confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love. "The New York Times""" Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF. "Publishers Weekly (starred review)"" "Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love.""--The New York Times ""Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel...confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review) Praise for "The Risen Empire" "Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love.""--The New York Times ""Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel...confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review) Praise for "The Risen Empire" "Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love.""--The New York Times""Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel...confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review) Praise for "The Risen Empire": "Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love.""--The New York Times ""Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel...confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review) Praise for "The Risen Empire": "Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love.""--The New York Times ""Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel...confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review) "Literate space opera in the tradition of Isaac Asimov's Foundation series and Frank Herbert's Dune books. With a light touch all his own, Westerfeld illumines the clash of mighty galactic empires by focusing on individuals who, despite the distractions of war and politics, cannot help falling in love."-"The New York Times," a "Summer Reading" selection ""The Risen Empire" is full of relentless and addictive action which is supported by some truly wild ideas. Westerfeld's blend of traditional space opera and cutting-edge speculation makes this a truly 21st century SF novel."-Karl Schroeder "Westerfeld's exceptionally smart and empathetic novel, the first of two in a series, confirms the buzz that space opera is one of the most exciting branches of current SF. . . . Keeping the reader constantly off-balance, Westerfeld skillfully integrates extreme technologies with human characters."-"Publishers Weekly "[Starred Review] ""The Risen Empire" is proof that space opera can be as complex and sophisticated as any other form of literature. Doc Smith would barely recognize it."-- Mike Resnick "Westerfeld spins a dramatic tale that never flags in pace or imagination, nor in its abundance of original vision abandons narrative in favor of didactic digressions . . . a strong and vibrant story, as engaging and innovative in its scope as his mechanical inventions or cultural constructs. In my opinion this novel represents a balance that much contemporary science fiction lacks. And just when you thought that the author has exhausted the possibilities for further invention, he takes the reader down entirely new and delightfully unexpected paths . . . the richness of imagination presentin the author's world-building, as well as the febrile and vivid description that accompanies his settings and the novel's cultural and social infrastructure, easily set the book apart, not only from the common space opera but from most other science fiction as well. Westerfeld's characterizations . . . possess both depth and a poignant and compassionate humanity. . . . this recalls some of the best of Asimov but written with a more concise and breathless speed. It's been quite a while since I've read science fiction I've enjoyed more or that combines narrative action with imagination as intelligently. Heartily f0recommended."--"Interzone" "There's always been something almost soothing about space opera: no matter how many starships explode, planetary rulers topple, and sinister aliens slither, the almost gleeful sense of wonder warms and comforts the reader. This space opera is so much more than that. "The Risen Empire" glows with sense of wonder, but it's stuffed with ideas, quirky technologies, nuances of moral choices, and sees conflicts from all sides. I loved it, I heartily recommend it, and I hope Scott Westerfeld pens many more books like it---quickly!"-Ed Greenwood "Recent writers in [the space opera] sub-genre include the likes of Vernor Vinge, David Brin, Peter Hamilton, Iain Banks, Ken MacLeod, Alastair Reynolds, and Karl Schroeder. Indeed, many of the most popular writers in the science fiction field today are writing space operas. Scott Westerfeld is the latest author to throw his hat into the ring with his new novel "The Risen Empire" . . . [a] baroque space opera. The novel contains a great story with interesting sub-plots, cool technology, and engagingcharacters. I found Risen a fun read full of intriguing ideas and reminiscent of Iain Banks' Culture novels in breadth and scope."-SFRevu.com "In Westerfeld's hands, science fiction's cutting edge is wielded with both the precision of a surgeon's scalpel and the wild abandon of a machete."-Wil McCarthy "This is the start of an ambitious saga that delivers that good old science fiction "sense of wonder" combined with a thoroughly modern -- and even post-modern -- information age sensibility. Westerfeld creates an incredibly rich, consistently imagined far-future milieu packed with inspired transhuman civilization-building, technological foresight, and the fine attention to details both large and small that marks this as visionary science fiction of the highest quality. Westerfeld's got creativity out the yin yang!"-Tony Danielshow more

About Scott Westerfield

Scott Westerfeld lives in New York City and Sydney, Australia.show more

Rating details

2,165 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 29% (625)
4 40% (875)
3 23% (488)
2 6% (129)
1 2% (48)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X