The Ring Breaker

The Ring Breaker

By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

'A skilfully written, beautifully researched coming-of-age story set in Viking Orkney. A rich and compelling read.'

Lexie Conyngham, the Orkneyinga Murders series

Loyalty has a price the children pay

In the twilight of the old gods, when the last Vikings rule the seas, two cursed orphans meet on an Orkney beach and their fates collide.

Stripped of honour, facing bleak loneliness ahead, Skarfr and Hlif forge an unbreakable bond as they come of age in the savage Viking culture of blood debts and vengeance. To be accepted as adults, Skarfr must prove himself a warrior and Hlif must learn to use women's weapons. Can they clear their names and choose their destiny? Or are they doomed by their fathers' acts?

The award-winning author of The Troubadours Quartet returns to the 12th century, with skalds instead of troubadours and Viking warriors instead of crusaders. Get ready for authentic medieval adventures steeped in poetry, politics and passion. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell Matthew Harffy and Madeline Miller.

'A stirring coming-of-age tale forged in love, inheritance and adventure - in 'The Ring Breaker' Jean Gill skilfully brings the poetry and magic of the Viking world to life.' Emily Brand, The Fall of the House of Byron




'Absolutely brilliant. A tour-de-force of storytelling, Viking lore, and the rugged landscape of Orkney. This was one of the highlights of my reading year. The characters of Hlif and Skarfr are brave, resourceful and intelligent and I Ioved them both. I can't wait for their next sea-faring adventure.' Deborah Swift, Italian Renaissance series
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 328 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 21mm | 308g
  • English
  • 9791096459391

Review quote

'Absolutely brilliant. A tour-de-force of storytelling, Viking lore, and the rugged landscape of Orkney. This was one of the highlights of my reading year. The characters of Hlif and Skarfr are brave, resourceful and intelligent and I Ioved them both. I can't wait for their next sea-faring adventure.' Deborah Swift, Italian Renaissance series

'A stirring coming-of-age tale forged in love, inheritance and adventure - in 'The Ring Breaker' Jean Gill skilfully brings the poetry and magic of the Viking world to life.' Emily Brand, The Fall of the House of Byron

'A skilfully written, beautifully researched coming-of-age story set in Viking Orkney...

Everything from fighting to stone masonry is convincingly portrayed, and from the practical to the mystical a scene in Maeshowe brings its known history to life and touches on the magical. A rich and compelling read.' Lexie Conyngham, the Orkneyinga Murders series

Ms Gill blends fact, fiction and legend to create believable characters who straddle the real and mystical world in a truly enthralling story. Annie Whitehead, To Be a Queen

'An immersive coming of age tale set in Viking Age Orkney filled with court intrigue, sea voyages, and a society where two belief systems battle. The historic details are accurate but lightly woven into the story which takes real skill.' Grace Tierney, Words the Vikings Gave Us

'The Odyssey kind of epic, yet softer and kinder on the mind, and quicker-paced, but without losing its glorious intensity and genius.' Jessica Bell Can You Make The Title Bigga

'The way Gill has crafted the mysterious historical evidence into a coherent story gives the reader an unforgettable world, harsh and startling, but tinged with magic.' Jessica Knauss, Our Lady's Troubadour

'If you're a fan of the Viking Age, the television shows Vikings and Valhalla, or the excellent works of authors Kristian Giles and Peter Gibbons, the world of The Ring Breaker will feel familiar. (In this novel) all of a reader's senses are stirred by rich details of the medieval experience. But what makes for the best Viking tales? The adventures, of course, found in this novel too.' Lisa J. Yarde, Sultana series'To read Jean Gill's historical novels is not so much to see into history, but to live it and breathe it with a feeling of utter authenticity.' Paul Trembling, Local Poet

'The captivating story of a young man's search for his true voice, and struggle with forbidden love. A vivid picture of the harsh beauty of Viking life-the grey, rough seas and the sailors who sail across them, the struggle among powerful rulers for control of their rocky kingdoms, the mysteries of runes, the weight of prophecy, and the lilt of Norse poetry, all woven together with threads of political intrigue, music, and magic. I will happily follow Jean Gill to whatever time and place she chooses to lead me next!' Melodie Winawer, Anticipation

'If you're a lover of Viking history this book will tick all the boxes. It's got a well-researched basis in historical characters, but with plenty of imaginative writing intertwined. The characters are believable and many are appealing - but not all! A great read.' Kath Middleton
show more