Ride Around Shining

Ride Around Shining

3.23 (101 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$25.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Ride Around Shining concerns the idle preoccupations, and later machinations, of a transplanted Portlander named Jess a nobody from nowhere with a master's degree and a gig delivering takeout. He parlays the latter, along with a few lies, into a job as a chauffeur for an up-and-coming NBA small forward, a Trail Blazer named Calyph West, and his young wife, Antonia. Calyph is black, Antonia is white, and Jess becomes fascinated, innocuously at first, by all that they are that he is not. In striving to make himself indispensable to them, he causes Calyph to have a season-ending knee injury, then brings about the couple's estrangement, before positioning himself at last as their perverse savior.In the tradition of Patricia Highsmith's The Talented Mr. Ripley and Harold Pinter's The Servant not to mention a certain Shakespeare play about a creepy white dude obsessed with a black dude Ride Around Shining is a striking, propulsive debut that is by turns hilarious and discomfiting, moody and thrilling, and which asks unforgettable questions about the modern tensions of race and class in America."
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 226 pages
  • 158 x 230 x 26mm | 379.99g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062285076
  • 9780062285072

Review quote

"A smart, sad, funny, beautifully voiced, and precisely detailed investigation of the particularly American collision of race, sex, money, and vicariousness."-- David Shields, author of "Black Planet"
show more

Rating details

101 ratings
3.23 out of 5 stars
5 16% (16)
4 23% (23)
3 38% (38)
2 17% (17)
1 7% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X