Revolver

Revolver

3.72 (4,667 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Sig Andersson has a choice to make - use the gun or die. An unforgettable, razor-sharp psychological thriller set in the snowy wilderness of the Arctic Circle. Recipient of a Michael L. Printz Honor 2011, shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2010 and longlisted for the GUARDIAN Children's Fiction Prize 2010.

1910. A cabin north of the Arctic Circle. Fifteen-year-old Sig Andersson is alone. Alone, except for the corpse of his father, who died earlier that day after falling through a weak spot on the ice-covered lake. His sister, Anna, and step-mother, Nadya, have gone to the local town for help.

Then comes a knock at the door. It's a man, the flash of a revolver's butt at his hip, and a mean glare in his eyes. Sig has never seen him before but Wolff claims to have unfinished business with his father.

As Sig gradually learns the awful truth about Wolff's connection to his father, his thoughts are drawn to a certain box hidden on a shelf in the storeroom, in which lies his father's prized possession - a revolver.

As the stakes rise and Wolff begins to close in, Sig's choice is pulled into sharp focus. Should he use the gun?
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 207 x 217 x 14mm | 202g
  • Orion Children's Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1444000055
  • 9781444000054
  • 65,150

Review Text

A gripping thriller THE GUARDIAN
show more

Review quote

a powerful thriller... Tense, thought-provoking and original. -- Emma Lee Potter * DAILY EXPRESS * An outstanding psychological thriller about the Arctic gold rush -- Fiona Noble * THE BOOKSELLER * ?one of the finest and best-constructed page turners of the year? Tense, succinct, evocative and ingenious, and one to haunt you long after the summer is over? -- Nicolette Jones * THE SUNDAY TIMES * The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters. * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW * REVOLVER crackles with more razor-sharp tension and tightly coiled plotting than books twice its length * THE DAILY MAIL * A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy. * THE HORN BOOK, STARRED REVIEW * An elegant, brilliantly executed tale... This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length. * THE TIMES * Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale. * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, STARRED REVIEW * A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions. * KIRKUS REVIEWS, STARRED REVIEW * A gripping thriller * THE GUARDIAN *
show more

About Marcus Sedgwick

Marcus Sedgwick is a full time author. His first novel, Floodland, won the Branford Boase Award for the best debut children's novel of 2000. Since then his books have been shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, the Blue Peter Book Award, the Costa Book Award, the Carnegie Medal and the Edgar Allan Poe Award.

Find his website at www.marcussedgwick.com and follow him on Twitter @marcussedgwick.
show more

Rating details

4,667 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 24% (1,115)
4 38% (1,760)
3 28% (1,290)
2 8% (375)
1 3% (127)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X