The Revenge of Magic

The Revenge of Magic

4.23 (34 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"This imaginative and exciting story feels like the start of something big. The brilliant premise unfolds into a thrilling first book that has me impatient for the next one." --Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven and Dragonwatch When long-dead magical creatures are discovered all around the world, each buried with a book of magic, only children can unlock the dangerous power of the books in this start to a thrilling new series from the author of the New York Times bestselling Story Thieves! Thirteen years ago, books of magic were discovered in various sites around the world alongside the bones of dragons. Only those born after "Discovery Day" have the power to use the magic. Now, on a vacation to Washington, DC, Fort Fitzgerald's father is lost when a giant creature bursts through the earth, attacking the city. Fort is devastated, until an opportunity for justice arrives six months later, when a man named Dr. Opps invites Fort to a government run school, the Oppenheimer School, to learn magic from those same books. But life's no easier at the school, where secrets abound. What does Jia, Fort's tutor, know about the attacks? Why does Rachel, master of destructive magic, think Fort is out to destroy the school? And why is Fort seeing memories of an expelled girl every time he goes to sleep? If Fort doesn't find out what's hiding within the Oppenheimer School, more attacks will come, and this time, nothing will stop them!
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 142 x 211 x 38mm | 476g
  • English
  • 1481485776
  • 9781481485777
  • 1,097,249

Review quote

"Fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riodan's books will enjoy the crafted mixture of magic and military life."--School Library Connection
show more

About James Riley

James Riley lives in Virginia. He is the author of Half Upon a Time, Twice Upon a Time, and Once Upon the End as well as the Story Thieves series. Vivienne To has illustrated several books, including The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins and the Randi Rhodes, Ninja Detective series by Octavia Spencer. As a child, she had two pet mice escape. She currently lives in Sydney, Australia, with her partner and her ginger cat. Visit her at VivienneTo.com.
show more

Rating details

34 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 50% (17)
4 26% (9)
3 21% (7)
2 3% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X