Resist
24%
off

Resist

3.72 (4,164 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The shocking and thrilling sequel--and conclusion--to Breathe, which Kirkus Reviews called "intelligent and absorbing." Three teens confront danger, uncertainty, and the yearning to live--and breathe--freely. This powerful dystopian novel is for fans of Veronica Roth and Patrick Ness. What would you do if you were desperate? Bea, Alina, and Quinn are outlaws. They started a rebellion and have been thrown out of the pod--the only place where there's enough air to breathe. Bea has lost her family. Alina has lost her home. And Quinn has lost his privileged life. What will they find now that they are refugees in the perilous Outlands? Their final safe haven may be harboring dark secrets. But together, the three teens find the will to keep fighting, to save one another, and to break free from everything that's holding them back. Acclaimed author Sarah Crossan has created a dangerous, shattered society, and brought to life three teenagers who come into their own in the most heartbreaking ways. A wrenching, thought-provoking, and unforgettable post-apocalyptic novel.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 360 pages
  • 148 x 222 x 38mm | 439.99g
  • Greenwillow Books
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062118722
  • 9780062118721
  • 441,213

Review quote

"Crossan keeps readers on their feet. Her gritty, lifeless world, the result of the destruction of all of the world's trees, is populated by desperate drifters who survive with portable solar respirators. . . . Intelligent and absorbing."--Kirkus Reviewsshow more

Back cover copy

Run. Break away. Fight. Keep on breathing. They are all outlaws. They are all fighters. And they can't ever go back to the life they left behind. They don't want to. Bea thought she knew what people meant when they talked about having broken hearts. She didn't know a thing. Quinn doesn't know what he was thinking. Now he's alone and Bea's practically alone, and he has no way of knowing when he'll see her again. Ronan has never been alone before. Not truly. But now he is, and he has only one option left. Does he have the guts to take it? Alina can't help feeling that she's going to have a notable part to play in everyone's destruction. From the ashes of a dying world, a revolution is growing. And it starts with those who have already lost everything. The provocative and unforgettable conclusion to Sarah Crossan's Breathe.show more

Our customer reviews

I remember really loving Breathe, and connecting with the characters, but unfortunately Resist didn't warrant quite as much love from me. I think my biggest issue is I was thrown back into this world and into these characters heads without any sort of review or refresher, so I felt disconnected for a bit, and I couldn't remember plot details. I guess I should have reread and then I know this probably would have been a 5 star, but I didn't have time. Once I got back into the characters heads for a bit and just forgot what I'd forgotten, I got swept up in their troubles, trials, loves, friends and into this frightening world where taking your next breath is not guaranteed. Bea was my favorite, like last time, she is so kind hearted but strong at the same time. She strives to see and believe the best of other people. There were many challenges thrown at the characters, and obstacles to overcome so there was always something going on and it def kept my attention. The ending didn't feel quite complete enough for me, but I can't put my finger on why because everything was tied up as can be expected. Maybe it was a certain death? Can't be sure, but while I was caught up in this world, it was not the sequel that I was yearning for. Bottom Line: Good but not how I loved Breathe.show more
by Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books)
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X