Reputations
33%
off

Reputations

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Named aBest Book of the Year by the New York Times, Newsweek, the Guardian, and Kirkus From the brilliant mind of the bestselling, award-winning author of The Sound of Things Falling, a powerful novel about a legendary political cartoonist. Perfect for readers of Ian McEwan and J. M. Coetzee. Javier Mallarino is a living legend. He is his country's most influential political cartoonist, the consciousness of a nation. A man capable of repealing laws, overturning judges' decisions, destroying politicians' careers with his art. His weapons are pen and ink. Those in power fear him and pay him homage. At sixty-five, after four decades of a brilliant career, he's at the height of his powers. But this all changes when he's paid an unexpected visit from a young woman who upends his sense of personal history and forces him to re-evaluate his life and work, questioning his position in the world. In Reputations, Juan Gabriel Vasquez examines the weight of the past, how a public persona intersects with private histories, and the burdens and surprises of memory. In this intimate novel that recalls authors like Coetzee and Ian McEwan, Vasquez plumbs universal experiences to create a masterful story, one that reverberates long after you turn the final page."show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 190 pages
  • 140 x 231 x 23mm | 318g
  • Riverhead Books
  • United States
  • English
  • 1594633479
  • 9781594633478
  • 768,627

Review quote

Praise for "Reputations" "[S]pare but powerful....A brisk and sophisticated study of a conscience in crisis." "Kirkus" (STARRED) "Vasquez, who likely came to your attention with 2010 s scathing"The Informers"and certainly made your reading list with"The Sound of Things Falling," the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award winner, returns with a reverberant new work about a life suddenly challenged... [The] response has been ecstatic." "Library Journal" Praise for Juan GabrielVasquez "The narrative escalates, the mystery deepens, and the scope of the story widens with each page. This terrific novel draws on Colombia's tragic history and cycles of violence to tell the story of a troubled man trying to come to grips with the distant forces and events that have shaped his life." Khaled Hosseini "A fine and frightening study of how the past preys upon the present..." John Banville "I felt myself under the spell of a masterful writer. Juan Gabriel Vasquez has many gifts--intelligence, wit, energy, a deep vein of feeling--but he uses them so naturally that soon enough one forgets one's amazement at his talents, and then the strange, beautiful sorcery of his tale takes hold." Nicole Krauss "Juan Gabriel Vasquez is one of the most original new voices of Latin American literature." Mario Vargas Llosa "For anyone who has read the entire works of Gabriel Garcia Marquez and is in search of a new Colombian novelist... a thrilling new discovery." Colm Toibin Praise for"The Sound of Things Falling" "[A] Brilliant new novel...gripping...absorbing right to the end."The Sound of Things Falling"may be a page turner, but it's also a deep meditation on fate and death." Edmund White, "The New York Times Book Review" "Deeply affecting and closely observed." Hector Tobar, "Los Angeles Times" "Like Bolano, [Vasquez] is a master stylist and a virtuoso of patient pacing and intricate structure, and he uses the novel for much the same purpose that Bolano did: to map the deep, cascading damage done to our world by greed and violence and to concede that even love can t repair it." Lev Grossman, "Time"Magazine "Juan Gabriel Vasquez is a considerable writer."The Sound of Things Falling"is an artful, ruminative mystery... And the reader comes away haunted by its strong playing out of an irreversible fate." E. L. Doctorow "Razor-sharp" "O, the Oprah Magazine" An undoubted talent Introspective and personal. "The Wall Street Journal" Vasquez creates characters whose memories resonate powerfully across an ingeniously interlocking structure Vasquez creates a compelling literary work one where an engaging narrative envelops poignant memories of a fraught historical period. "The New Republic" "The Sound of Things Falling"is a masterful chronicle of how the violence between the cartels and government forces spilled out to affect and corrode ordinary lives. It is also Vasquez's finest work to date . His stark realism the flip side of the magical variation of his compatriot Gabriel Garcia Marquez together with his lyrical treatment of memory produces both an electrifying and a soberingread. Malcolm Forbes, "San Francisco Chronicle" Haunting Vasquezbrilliantly and sensitively illuminates the intimate effects and whispers of life under siege, and the moral ambiguities that inform survival. "Cleveland Plain Dealer""show more

About Juan Gabriel Vasquez

Juan Gabriel Vasquez's previous books include the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award winner and national bestseller, The Sound of Things Falling, as well as the award-winning The Informers, The Secret History of Costaguana, and the story collection Lovers on All Saints' Day. Vasquez's novels have been published in twenty-eight languages worldwide. After sixteen years in France, Belgium, and Spain, he now lives in Bogota. Anne McLeantranslates Latin American and Spanish novels, short stories, memoirs, and other writings. She has twice won both the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and the Premio Valle Inclan, and received the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award with Juan Gabriel Vasquez for his novelThe Sound of Things Falling. She lives in Toronto."show more