The Replaced

The Replaced

3.76 (1,501 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The gripping second installment in the Taking trilogy is perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the Body Finder series. Explosive and romantic, with creepy, otherworldly elements and twisty, psychological thrills, The Replaced will have you questioning what exactly it means to be human.Kyra hasn't been the same since she returned from her mysterious five-year disappearance. Now on the run from the NSA, Kyra is forced to hide out with others who, like her, have been Returned. Yet she is determined to find Tyler, the boy she loves who was also abducted...all because of her. When her group intercepts a message that Tyler might still be alive, Kyra risks everything to get him back. But he is being held by a shadowy government organization that experiments on the Returned, and going after him puts the rest of the group in danger. Even if Kyra gets Tyler back, the fight to save him-and the rest of the Returned-is just beginning.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 22mm | 273g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062293648
  • 9780062293640
  • 485,999

Review quote

"Kimberly Derting is an amazing writer and a master storyteller. THE TAKING will have you hooked from the very first pages." -- Richelle Mead, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of VAMPIRE ACADEMY "Equal parts romance and suspense, THE TAKING is a sexy blend of conspiracy theory and sci-fi." -- Kami Garcia, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of UNBREAKABLE and co-author of BEAUTIFUL CREATURES "THE TAKING is an action-packed, heart-filled ride. I loved it." -- Melissa Marr, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of WICKED LOVELY "Kimberly Derting does it again! THE TAKING is an exciting, fast-paced thriller with an eerie and intriguing paranormal mystery at the heart of it. You'll want to read it as fast as you can and then DEMAND the next book NOW!" -- Melissa de la Cruz, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of BLUEBLOODS and WITCHES OF EAST END "With pitch-perfect prose, swoon-worthy romance, and edge-of-your-seat suspense, THE TAKING kept me reading late into the night. This is Derting at her best." -- Alyson Noel, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of THE IMMORTALS "An original and intriguing premise" -- Publishers Weekly "This series opener provides a promising start that intrigues as well as it entertains." -- Kirkus Reviews "Readers will be legitimately unable to put the book down. The mystery, romance and action add up to create a roller coaster of a read." -- Romantic Times Magazine Praise for THE BODY FINDER "You'll be drawn in by the love story-and kept up all night by the suspense." -- Claudia Gray, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Evernight series "First-time novelist Derting has written a suspenseful mystery and sensual love story that will captivate readers who enjoy authentic high-school settings, snappy dialogue, sweet romance, and heart-stopping drama. A real page-turner, this will have readers checking behind themselves and refusing to go anywhere alone." -- Booklist Praise for DESIRES OF THE DEAD: "[T]his absorbing suspense tale...stands out in the sea of supernatural fiction...Imaginative, convincing and successful suspense." -- Kirkus Reviews "Interweaving suspense, steamy romance, supernatural elements, and themes of jealousy, anger, and other deadly sins, this fast-paced, compelling read features a multifaceted protagonist and intriguing supporting characters. Wholly absorbing, this will leave readers hoping for future titles about talented Violet." -- Booklist Praise for THE LAST ECHO: "As always, this author writes a gripping tale...this intriguing series continues to provide great entertainment for suspense fans." -- Kirkus Reviews "In spite of providing a tough, likable heroine and a sweet, romantic element, Derting unflinchingly explores the twisted minds of sadistic killers. It's a combination that keeps her readers clamoring for more." -- Booklist Praise for DEAD SILENCE: "Another compelling suspense tale with entirely believable adolescent characters who work together to prevent and solve crimes. BFFs, love interests, interfering parents all converge to make this story a great read." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
show more

About Kimberly Derting

Kimberly Derting is the author of the Body Finder series, the Pledge trilogy, and the Taking series. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where the gloomy weather is ideal for writing anything dark and creepy. Her three beautiful (and often mouthy) children serve as an endless source of inspiration and frequently find things they say buried in the pages of their mother's books. You can visit her online at www.kimberlyderting.com.
show more

Rating details

1,501 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 25% (369)
4 37% (561)
3 30% (444)
2 7% (104)
1 2% (23)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X