The Reminders
20%
off

The Reminders

3.89 (1,876 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Ten-year-old Joan was born with a rare gift: she can remember every single day of her life in perfect detail. She can tell you how many times her mother has uttered the phrase `it never fails' in the last six months (twenty-seven), or what she was wearing when her grandfather took her fishing on a particular Sunday in June years ago (fox socks).

But Joan doesn't want to be the girl who remembers everything - she wants to be the girl that no one can forget. When her father's old bandmate Gavin comes to stay, reeling from the sudden loss of his partner Sydney, Joan is keen to enlist his help in making her name. Even if it means using her extraordinary memory to help him solve the mystery of Sydney's final months . . .

Told in the alternating voices of two unforgettable characters, The Reminders by musician and actor Val Emmich is a funny, heart-wrenching and uplifting story of friendship, grief, memory and hope.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 145 x 223 x 28mm | 449g
  • PICADOR
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1509829423
  • 9781509829422
  • 720,455

Review quote

A touching story told from two points of view * Prima * An endearing and sincere paean to the bonds of music and family . . . Quirky and lighthearted yet still soulful, Emmich's debut reveals his skilled hand for crafting relationships and voice * Shelf Awareness * Charming and relatable * Booklist * A charming debut novel . . . Like Nick Hornby, Emmich has a knack for avoiding the treacly and saccharine while finding magic in unlikely relationships * National Book Review * Quirky, touching and addictive * Library Journal * Achingly sweet and unexpectedly nuanced . . . This is a book that leaves you feeling better about life and the role we play * Kirkus * Beautiful and beguiling, a story that will stay with you long after you finish reading it * Popsugar * This delightful book is perfect for fans of The Rosie Project and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Ten-year-old Joan was born with a rare gift: she can remember every single day of her life in perfect detail . . . With a memorable cast of quirky characters, Emmich weaves a touching, character-driven story of grief and new beginnings. The Reminders is tender without being saccharine and tackles complex themes like relationships and forgiveness with considerable subtlety * Book Riot * In a story that is both startlingly original and deeply familiar, I could not stop reading, and was bereft when the story ended. -- Jacquelyn Mitchard, bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean Val Emmich has created an indelible cast of complex and quirky characters who drew me in for an emotional and humorous ride . . . A book brimming with heart and soul - you really must read it! -- Garth Stein, bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain A charming, whimsical Odd Couple story that should be read while listening to The Beatles * Red * Endearing and wise . . . I adored the unlikely friendship between a gifted child who remembers everything and a grieving man who is trying to forget. Emmich brings a compassionate, often comical, and always true eye to his storytelling. Ten-year-old Joan says a good song should either make you want to dance or cry, and The Reminders does both' -- Eowyn Ivey, bestselling author of The Snow Child Achingly tender and charming * Daily Mail * I thoroughly enjoyed The Reminders. It's a wonderful and unusual story told in a beautifully understated way. Quietly magnificent''I thoroughly enjoyed The Reminders. It's a wonderful and unusual story told in a beautifully understated way. Quietly magnificent -- Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things
show more

About Val Emmich

Val Emmich is an actor with numerous high-profile TV credits to his name, and an award-winning singer-songwriter who has released over a dozen albums. The Reminders is his first novel. Val lives in Jersey City, New Jersey, with his wife and two children.
show more

Rating details

1,876 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 24% (448)
4 48% (894)
3 23% (438)
2 5% (87)
1 0% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X