Remember Me
7%
off

Remember Me : A Spanish Civil War Novel

3.83 (494 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Amid the shadows of war, one family faces an impossible choice that will change their lives forever. From bestseller Mario Escobar comes a 20th-century historical novel of sacrifice and resilience inspired by Spain's famed Children of Morelia and the true events that shaped their lives.

Madrid, 1934. Though the Spanish Civil War has not yet begun, the streets of Madrid have become dangerous for thirteen-year-old Marco Alcalde and his two younger sisters. Marco's parents align themselves against the new fascist regime, unaware that their choice will endanger the entire family-nor do they predict the violence that is to come.

In a desperate bid for safety, the Alcaldes join many other Spanish families in making an impossible choice to send their unaccompanied children across the ocean to the city of Morelia, Mexico-a place they've never seen or imagined, but whose government promises their children protection. Young Marco promises to look after his sisters in Mexico until their family can be reunited in Spain, but a harrowing journey ensues.

As the growing children work to care for themselves and each other, they feel their sense of home, family, and identity slipping further and further away. As their memories of Spain fade, they begin to wonder if they will ever see their parents again or the glittering streets of the home they once loved.

Based upon the true stories of the Children of Morelia, Mario Escobar's Remember Me-now available for the first time in English-paints a poignant portrait of an immigrant family's sacrificial love and endurance, detailing just how far we go for those we love.

"Luminous and beautifully researched, Remember Me is a study of displacement, belonging, compassion, and forged family amid a heart- wrenching escape from the atrocities of the Spanish Civil War. Fans of Arturo Perez-Reverte, Chanel Cleeton, and Lisa Wingate will be mesmerized."-Rachel McMillan, author of The London Restoration



Perfect for book clubs: Includes discussion questions, research notes from the author, and a historical timeline
Based on real historical events: Full-length, 90,000-word historical novel based on the true stories of the Children of Morelia
Researched and written by a subject-matter expert: Mario Escobar has a master's degree in modern history and lives in Madrid
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 155 x 234 x 26mm | 426g
  • Nashville, United States
  • English
  • ITPE Edition
  • 0785236708
  • 9780785236702
  • 489,913

About Mario Escobar

Mario Escobar has a master's degree in modern history and has written numerous books and articles that delve into the depths of church history, the struggle of sectarian groups, and the discovery and colonization of the Americas. Escobar, who makes his home in Madrid, Spain, is passionate about history and its mysteries.
show more

Rating details

494 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 25% (123)
4 42% (209)
3 26% (126)
2 5% (26)
1 2% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X