Red Scarf Girl
27%
off

Red Scarf Girl : A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

3.69 (9,512 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution-and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.

Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 99.06 x 165.1 x 20.32mm | 294.83g
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0061667714
  • 9780061667718
  • 103,823

Back cover copy

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, tons of friends, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. When Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

This is the true story of one girl's determination to hold her family together during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century.
show more

Review quote

â "Absorbing. Jiang views devastating developments with the wide-eyed innocence of youth." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) â "Heart-pounding. A page-turner. Excellent." -- School Library Journal (starred review) â "Engrossing. Transcends politics and becomes the story of one little girl trying to survive." -- Booklist (starred review) "All the more powerful for the simplicity of its prose." -- New York Times Book Review "I can only hope I would have shown the same decency and courage exhibited by Ji-li Jiang. Her actions remind me that, even under unbearable circumstances, one can still cling to love and justice. Above all, one can still hope for a happier tomorrow." -- David Henry Hwang, playwright of M. Butterfly
show more

Rating details

9,512 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 22% (2,069)
4 40% (3,790)
3 28% (2,641)
2 7% (688)
1 3% (324)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X