The Red Palace
10%
off

The Red Palace

4.68 (37 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

June Hur, critically acclaimed author of The Silence of Bones and The Forest of Stolen Girls, returns with The Red Palace--a third evocative, atmospheric historical mystery perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Kerri Maniscalco.

To enter the palace means to walk a path stained in blood...

Joseon (Korea), 1758. There are few options available to illegitimate daughters in the capital city, but through hard work and study, eighteen-year-old Hyeon has earned a position as a palace nurse. All she wants is to keep her head down, do a good job, and perhaps finally win her estranged father's approval.

But Hyeon is suddenly thrust into the dark and dangerous world of court politics when someone murders four women in a single night, and the prime suspect is Hyeon's closest friend and mentor. Determined to prove her beloved teacher's innocence, Hyeon launches her own secret investigation.

In her hunt for the truth, she encounters Eojin, a young police inspector also searching for the killer. When evidence begins to point to the Crown Prince himself as the murderer, Hyeon and Eojin must work together to search the darkest corners of the palace to uncover the deadly secrets behind the bloodshed.

Praise for June Hur:

Compulsively readable and utterly unique, The Red Palace is a must-read murder mystery steeped in royal intrigue. --Jennifer Lynn Barnes, New York Times-bestselling author of The Inheritance Games, on The Red Palace

Court politics and hierarchal society are the stunning backdrop of June Hur's page-turning, atmospheric The Red Palace. ... Will have readers totally obsessed. --Adrienne Young, New York Times-bestselling author of Fable

A breathtaking journey through 1400s Korea. ... The mystery complements the setting perfectly, and the conclusion is well-plotted and satisfying. ... A must for all collections. --School Library Journal, starred review, on The Forest of Stolen Girls

This gripping drama is definitely one you're not going to want to miss. --Buzzfeed, on The Silence of Bones
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 137 x 211 x 30mm | 422g
  • New York
  • English
  • 1250800552
  • 9781250800558
  • 68,659

Review quote

Praise for The Red Palace:

Compulsively readable and utterly unique, The Red Palace is a must-read murder mystery steeped in royal intrigue. --Jennifer Lynn Barnes, New York Times-bestselling author of The Inheritance Games

Court politics and hierarchal society are the stunning backdrop of June Hur's page-turning, atmospheric The Red Palace. Hur's meticulous worldbuilding and immersive storytelling will have readers totally obsessed. --Adrienne Young, New York Times-bestselling author of Fable

Praise for The Forest of Stolen Girls:

Junior Library Guild Selection
YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nominee

A breathtaking journey through 1400s Korea. ... The mystery complements the setting perfectly, and the conclusion is well-plotted and satisfying. ... A must for all collections. --School Library Journal, starred review

Crafting a suspenseful, atmospheric historical mystery, Hur (The Silence of Bones) explores women's lack of bodily agency during this time and the dangers of obsessive protection, adroitly interweaving the historical context of the real horrors that afflicted Korean women from the 13th-century Mongol rule until after 1435. --Publishers Weekly

Set against the backdrop of fifteenth-century Korea--or Joseon, as it was known then--this tightly plotted historical mystery will please fans of both genres. ... Those who love well-researched historical fiction with darker themes such as Ruta Sepetys' Out of the Easy or Elizabeth Wein's Verity series, will appreciate Hur's attention to detail. Give to fans of Sherri L. Smith's The Blossom and the Firefly or Stacy Lee's Downstairs Girl looking for other well developed Asian characters. --YALSA

Rich, exquisite, and deeply atmospheric, The Forest of Stolen Girls draws the reader in from the very first page and doesn't let go. A dark and utterly engrossing mystery, beautifully drawn from start to finish. --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times-bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

The Forest of Stolen Girls is a haunting, breathtaking tale that will have readers on the edge of their seats. With its lush and atmospheric prose, complex character dynamics, and an immersive mystery I was ravenous to uncover, I could not turn the pages fast enough! Hur is an absolute master of mystery, and I will be reading her gorgeous books for years to come. --Adalyn Grace, New York Times-bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

Haunting and lyrical. Beware, this tale will draw you deeper into the forest than you want to go. --Stacey Lee, award-winning author of The Downstairs Girl

A brilliant historical fiction mystery that is suspenseful, gorgeous and absolutely riveting! Hur brings Jeju Island during the early Joseon period completely to life in a rich, evocative manner that reminds me of watching my favorite historical Kdrama. ... I adored this book from start to finish!" --Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series

Knee-deep inside Hur's taut, suspenseful snare, I felt the cold touch of secrets poking at my shoulder and sometimes, neck. Disappearances, quests, and family tension? I'm all the way in. --Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award finalist New York Times-bestselling author of A Sitting in St. James

Praise for The Silence of Bones:

ABA Indies Introduce Selection
Junior Library Guild Selection
A 2021 Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee
A 2021 ALA Rise Selection
2020 Freeman Award Honorable Mention

At once haunting and evocative, June Hur's The Silence of Bones is a gorgeous, tightly-woven debut. Prepare to delve deep into the lush and dangerous world of Korea in the 1800's for a page-turner you won't soon forget. --Hafsah Faizal, New York Times-bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame

An intriguing tale that touches on class, honor, the value of one's beliefs, and the lengths one is willing to go for loyalty and family. Hur presents such a vivid portrayal of the Joseon Era that it's like stepping back in time. With its breathtaking prose and complex characters, this mystery novel is sure to keep you guessing until the very end! --Kat Cho, author of Wicked Fox

This gripping drama is definitely one you're not going to want to miss. --Buzzfeed

A total knockout. --Popsugar

Gripping ... An exhilarating thriller, pitting the powerful against the power-hungry, endowing the powerless with affecting agency. --Shelf Awareness

This book is beautifully written, and moves at a brisk pace. ... Engaging and dynamic. Hur's first novel does an excellent job of exploring a topic that isn't found widely in YA literature. --School Library Journal

The Korean concept of han, as well as customs, language, and politics, are woven flawlessly into the narrative ... Seol's determined pursuit of literacy and freedom, as well as the bittersweet ending, make for a memorable and worthwhile read. --Publishers Weekly

In this striking debut, Hur has crafted an intriguing historical mystery set in a time period often overlooked in YA ... A compelling mystery for lovers of Victorian murder cases who are ready for an alternative to the London setting. --Booklist

An excellent historical mystery that asks big questions about family, religion, morality, and what it means to belong. --Book Riot

Read this book if you enjoy: supporting debut authors, Korean history, the 1800s, atmospheric reads, K-drama dramatics, books in which you start suspecting everyone. --Goodreads

I was struck by the depth of this gripping story. ... The meditative quality of the narration of this historical mystery felt perfectly suited to the Korean setting and the backdrop of political and religious struggles. Seol's courage, curiosity, and dedication make her a character I can't get enough of. --Tegan Tigani, Queen Anne Book Company

The Silence of Bones is a historic and richly atmospheric mystery that is utterly unique and difficult to put down! ... Mesmerizing. --Sarah True, Joseph-Beth Booksellers
show more

About June Hur

June Hur was born in South Korea and raised in Canada, except for the time when she moved back to Korea and attended high school there. She studied History and Literature at the University of Toronto. She began writing her debut novel after obsessing over books about Joseon Korea. When she's not writing, she can be found wandering through nature or journaling at a coffee shop. She is the author of The Silence of Bones, The Forest of Stolen Girls, and The Red Palace, and currently lives in Toronto with her husband and daughter
show more

Rating details

37 ratings
4.68 out of 5 stars
5 76% (28)
4 16% (6)
3 8% (3)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X